This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Woodward announces squad for Investec Challenge

31 October 2002

Investec Challenge Series, Autumn 2002

Neil Back (Leicester Tigers)
Lawrence Dallaglio (London Wasps)
James Forrester (Gloucester)
Danny Grewcock (Bath)
Richard Hill (Saracens)
Martin Johnson (Leicester Tigers) Captain
Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers)
Jason Leonard (NEC Harlequins)
Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers)
Mark Regan (Leeds Tykes)
Graham Rowntree (Leicester Tigers)
Simon Shaw (London Wasps)
Steve Thompson (Northampton Saints)
Phil Vickery (Gloucester) Vice Captain
Dorian West (Leicester Tigers)
Trevor Woodman (Gloucester)

Mike Catt (Bath)
Phil Christophers (Bristol Shoguns)
Ben Cohen (Northampton Saints)
Matt Dawson (Northampton Saints)
Marcel Garvey (Gloucester)
Andy Gomarsall (Gloucester)
Will Greenwood (NEC Harlequins)
Austin Healey (Leicester Tigers)
Ben Johnston (Saracens)
Jason Robinson (Sharks)
James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester)
Tim Stimpson (Leicester Tigers)
Mike Tindall (Bath)
Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle Falcons) Vice Captain

England head coach Clive Woodward said "The Investec Challenge matches this autumn provide a great opportunity for us to measure ourselves against the best in the world. The rugby will be fierce and competitive but I know our players will relish the challenge.

"Those injured and therefore not considered are Charlie Hodgson, Joe Worsley, Alex Sanderson, Dan Luger and Iain Balshaw. Julian White is unavailable for selection as he is currently suspended from the game, he will however train with the squad.

"Martin Johnson will captain the side against New Zealand and I have also named two vice captains in Phil Vickery and Jonny Wilkinson. Phil proved an outstanding captain in Argentina in June. Both he and Jonny currently captain their clubs in an exemplary way and both have major roles to play on and off the field.