This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

London Wasps name team for Saracens game

18 December 2003

London Wasps Director of Rugby, Warren Gatland, has named the side for this Sunday's Zurich Premiership game against local rivals Saracens, kick-off 3pm. The side sees the return of Lawrence Dallaglio, Josh Lewsey, Craig Dowd and Jonny O' Connor after having been rested for last weekend's game against Calvisano.
Phil Greening and Paul Sampson also make welcome returns to the side. Greening has been suffering with a toe injury during the past month and will start in the No.2 jersey ahead of Trevor Leota.

Sampson, for the first time this season, returns to the Wasps first team. The former England flyer suffered a knee injury during last season's IRB Dubai Sevens and missed three-quarters of the season. Sampson made a full recovery and was loaned out to Bath for three weeks during November. He then returned to the club and played in Wasps' Zurich A League game against London Irish last week, remarkably slotting six penalties and winning the game for Wasps. Sampson, who at one stage was regarded as one of the fastest players in the Premiership, will start from the bench.

Channel Four Countdown contestant, Ayoola Erinle, also returns to the side after suffering a rib injury last month. Erinle will start from the bench. The only other change is with Tom Voyce moving onto the wing in place of Kenny Logan.
Due to their involvement in the England v New Zealand Barbarians game on Saturday, Stuart Abbott, Simon Shaw and Joe Worsley were not available for selection. Mark Denney, Martin Purdy and Paul Volley will take their places respectively.


The team is �

15 Mark Van Gisbergen
14 Josh Lewsey
13 Fraser Waters
12 Mark Denney
11 Tom Voyce
10 Alex King
9 Rob Howley

1 Craig Dowd
2 Phil Greening
3 Will Green
4 Martin Purdy
5 Richard Birkett
6 Paul Volley
7 Jonny O' Connor
8 Lawrence Dallaglio (Capt)

16 Trevor Leota
17 Tim Payne
18 Ian Clarke
19 George Skivington
20 Peter Richards
21 Ayoola Erinle
22 Paul Sampson