This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Hill amongst seven changes for Saracens

28 November 2003

Saracens Head Coach Rod Kafer stays true to his word by naming World Cup Winner Richard Hill in the starting line up to face Rotherham Titans at Vicarage Road on Sunday - kick off 3pm. Hill is among seven changes made from the team that played Sale Sharks last week with new signing Cobus Visagie taking his place in the front row along with Robbie Russell and Alex Codling returning from injury to displace Kris Chesney in the second row.

The other changes appear in the back line where Denis Cech makes his first start for the club on the wing with Paul Bailey switching to centre replacing Nicky Little. The final change comes at fly half where Thomas Castaignede, after returning from injury last week, is preferred.

Fellow World Cup Winner Kyran Bracken takes his place on the bench and is sure to make an appearance.

"We were disappointed with our performance last week," explained Kafer. "We need to address that on Sunday as we have done this week during training. It's obviously very pleasing to include Richard (Hill) and Kyran (Bracken) in the side for Sunday and they will bring confidence and strability to the side as will Cobus (Visagie) up front. We're also pleased that Alex (Codling) has over come his injury and he will take his place in the second row and with Thomas Castaignede also returning from injury we've decided to keep him at fly half to give us a few more options.

"I'm expecting a very tough game from Rotherham on Sunday and they will be buoyed by their game against Leicester last weekend where they pushed them all the way. They will also be welcoming several players to their squad, chiefly from South Africa. What we have to do is concentrate on what we need to achieve to win the game and the experienced players that have returned should help to focus minds."

15 Richard Haughton
14 Denis Cech
13 Ben Johnson
12 Paul Bailey
11 Darragh O'Mahony
10 Thomas Castaignede
9 Morgan Williams

1 Emiliano Bergamaschi
2 Robbie Russell
3 Cobus Visagie
4 Simon Raiwalui (capt)
5 Alex Codling
6 Richard Hill
7 Tony Roques
8 Taine Randell

16 Johnny Marsters
17 Steven Sparks
18 Kris Chesney
19 Ben Russell
20 Kyran Bracken
21 Nicky Little
22 Adryan Winnan