This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

NEC Harlequins team news for Ospreys Clash

11 December 2004

NEC Harlequins make three changes to the side that started against the Neath-Swansea Ospreys last Sunday (5th December) for the return leg against the Welsh side at the Stoop on Saturday (11th December), kick-off 3.00pm.

In the back division, Adrian Jarvis makes his first start of the season at fly half. The England Under 21 international replaces Jeremy Staunton, who has a knee injury.

In the pack, Maurice Fitz Gerald starts his first game since the away match against Munster on 23rd October, having recovered from a hamstring injury. He starts in the front row at tighthead prop, with Ceri Jones moving over to the loosehead where he replaces Mike Worlsey, who misses out due to a back problem.

Tony Diprose is rested, so Luke Sherriff takes his place in the back row. He starts on the openside flank, with captain Andre Vos moving to number eight. 

On the replacements bench, Ace Tiatia has recovered from a calf injury and takes over from James Hayter, while Maama Molitika comes in for Sherriff.    

"We badly let ourselves down in the game at St Helens last Sunday," said Mark Evans, NEC Harlequins Chief Executive. "It was a performance that was completely uncharacteristic of the way we played throughout much of October and November, as we made far too many errors with the ball in hand that denied us the opportunity to put the Ospreys under any sustained periods of pressure."  

"It's a result that realistically ends any hopes we had of qualifying for the knockout stages of the tournament in the New Year. However, we are determined to finish the competition on a high and by having to face both Castres and Munster in early January, we still have a big part to play in deciding the final standings in the group." 

The full team is as follows: 

15. Tom Williams
14. George Harder
13. Will Greenwood
12. Dafydd James
11. Simon Keogh
10. Adrian Jarvis
9. Steve So'oialo
1. Ceri Jones
2. Tani Fuga
3. Maurice Fitz Gerald
4. Roy Winters
5. Simon Miall
6. Nick Easter
7. Luke Sherriff
8. Andre Vos (Capt.)

16. Ace Tiatia
17. Jon Dawson
18. Karl Rudzki
19. Maama Molitika
20. Andy Dunne
21. Mel Deane
22. Gavin Duffy



IBM TryTracker