This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Gloucester Team News Vs Ulster

29 October 2004

Saturday 30 October, Kingsholm, kick off 3pm
Tickets 0871 871 8781 or

Peter Buxton and Chris Fortey come into the starting line-up for Gloucester's Heineken Cup clash with Ulster at Kingsholm on Saturday (Gloucester Vs Ulster, Sat 30 Oct, Kingsholm, kick off 3pm).

26 year-old Buxton starts at blind-side flanker after captain Jake Boer was ruled out with an eye injury he picked up against Stade Francais.

Buxton will team up with Andy Hazell and James Forrester in the back-row, who were both named in England's 40-man squad this week.

Chris Fortey starts in the front row alongside Phil Vickery and Christo Bezuidenhout. The Gloucester stalwart replaces French international hooker Olivier Azam, who is named on the replacements bench.

Phil Vickery takes on the captaincy duties from Jake Boer, in what will be his first start at Kingsholm for more than six months.

Director of rugby Nigel Melville continues with his regular back-line. Mark Cornwell (second row), who made his debut for Gloucester more than 10 years ago, returns from a knee injury to be named on the bench.

Wing James Bailey also comes on to the bench for prop Terry Sigley. The front row man, who signed for Gloucester from Pertemp Bees in the summer, took a knock to his neck in training this week.

Gloucester will set a new Heineken Cup attendance record at Kingsholm on Saturday with more than 11,800 tickets sold (10am on Fri), beating the previous 11,000 record from previous seasons.

Tickets are available on-line at, from the ticket hotline on 0871 871 8781 and from the ticket office at the ground.


15. Jon Goodridge
14. Marcel Garvey
13. Terry Fanolua
12. Henry Paul
11. James Simpson-Daniel
10. Duncan McRae
9. Andy Gomarsall
1. Christo Bezuidenhout
2. Chris Fortey
3. Phil Vickery (c)
4. Adam Eustace
5. Alex Brown
6. Peter Buxton
7. Andy Hazell
8. James Forrester

16. Olivier Azam, 17. Gary Powell, 18. Mark Cornwell, 19. Adam Balding, 20. Alex Page, 21 Nathan Mauger, 22. James Bailey