This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

London Wasps team for Calvisano

29 October 2004

29 October 2004

London Wasps Director of Rugby, Warren Gatland, has named his side for this Saturday's Heineken Cup match against Italian side Calvisano, kick-off 2:30pm (local time). The side sees a number of changes from the one that defeated Biarritz last weekend but does include Simon Shaw, Fraser Waters and Craig Dowd with Trevor Leota on the bench.

Speaking on his return Shaw said: "It's been a long wait for me to get back to playing. My neck injury has healed and I'm ready to go. Sitting on the sidelines watching the players is very frustrating, as I like to be involved. My aim at the moment is to get through these 80 minutes without much hassle and then hopefully get back into the England squad in the near future".

Craig Dowd also makes his first start since an Achilles injury ruled him out of the latter parts of the last season while Waters returns to the starting XV since his ankle operation in the close season. Leota's horrific ear injury has healed remarkable well and he will start from the bench.

Gatland has named the young John Hart as captain. The lock/No.8 led Wasps' second team last season and has proven to be one of the club's future leaders. Hart said: "It's a great honour for me and I am really excited at the prospect of leading the team. There have been some great names who have led Wasps and I'm honoured that Warren has given me this opportunity."

Players that will be rested for this game are: Lawrence Dallaglio, Jonny O' Connor, Richard Birkett, Will Green, Tim Payne, Mark Van Gisbergen and Peter Richards.

The team is�

15 Tom Voyce
14 Josh Lewsey
13 Fraser Waters
12 Rob Hoadley
11 Michael Roberts
10 James Brookes
9 Harvey Biljon

1 Craig Dowd
2 Phil Greening
3 Henry Nwume
4 Simon Shaw
5 John Hart (Capt)
6 Mark Lock
7 Tom Rees
8 James Haskell

16 Trevor Leota
17 Alistair McKenzie
18 George Skivington
18 Joe Worsley
19 Matt Dawson
20 Alex King
21 Ayoola Erinle