This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Tuilagi in Midlands Under-16 trial

07 December 2006

Youngsters from across the Midlands will have a final chance to impress the Divisional selectors at the final Midlands trial at Solihull School on Sunday December 10 (1pm).
The selectors have named two sides for the trial, with two replacements who will definitely play and five more replacements who will cover for injuries during the game.
The trial is the final chance for youngsters, who impressed in recent inter-county matches, to stake their claims for places in the Midlands squad for the first Divisional Festival of the season at Castlecroft in Wolverhampton from January 12 to 14.
TheBlues team for the  trial includes centre Manu Tuilagi, of John Cleveland College in Hinckley, who is the youngest of six rugby-playing brothers four of whom - Freddie, Henry, Andy and Alex, have already played international rugby for Samoa. Henry, Andy and Alex are all members of the first team squad at Guinness Premeirship club Leicester Tigers.
Flanker Jack Jeavons-Fellows, who is the grandson of John Jeavons-Fellows, a former RFU representative on the International Rugby Board will line up against Tuilagi in the Reds team.
Midlands Under-16 Trial squads:
 Reds: 15 Dominic Sheehan (Warwickshire); 14 Andy Short (North Midlands), 13 Steven List (Leicestershire), 12 Guy Michaels (Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire), 11 Ryan Hough (NL&D); 10 Will Keeling (Leicestershire), 9 Joe Glover (Leicestershire); 1 Lee Graney (NL&D), 2 Dan Kirby (North Midlands), 3 Ryan Bower (Leicestershire), 4 Matt Haycock (Warwickshire), 5 Hugh Marsden (Leicestershire), 6 Matt Everard (Leicestershire), 7 Jack Jeavons-Fellows (North Midlands), 8 James Ingle (East Midlands). Replacements to play: Jake Lock (North Midlands), Oliver Storey (East Midlands. Replacements to cover for injury: Callum Trippett (NL&D), Adam Shaw (NL&D), Zach Rowlands (Staffordshire).
Blues: 15 Greg Littlewood (Leicestershire); 14 Earl Collins (Warwickshire), 13 Gareth Clarke (Leicestershire), 12 Manu Tuilagi (Leicestershire), 11 Sam Miller (Warwickshire); 10 Lee Chapman (Warwickshire), 9 Steve Dennis (East Midlands); 1 Shaun McCarthy (Warwickshire) , 2 Marcus Badham (Leicestershire), 3 Kenny Jones (East Midlands), 4 Josh McClaren (Leicestershire), 5 Edward Sanders (East Midlands), 6 Stephen Ewell (Warwickshire), 7 Tom Wheeler (East Midlands), 8 Ashley Parrot (Leicestershire). Replacements to play: Oliver Wolfe (Leicestershire), Jack Owens (East Midlands). Replacemenst to cover for injury: Luke Folkard (NL&D), Daniel Holmes (Leicestershire).