This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Ireland name squad for Barclays Churchill Cup

30 April 2007

Monday 30th May 2007

The Ireland A squad that will take part in the Barclays Churchill Cup in England at the end of May contains three full internationals in the touring party. 

The team will be coached by Connacht's Michael Bradley with Ulster's Allen Clarke as his assistant, and will play three games during the tournament, kicking off against Canada on May 19th. The squad will be captained by John Fogarty.

Ireland A Coach Michael Bradley said, "Last years tournament was an excellent experience for the players.  Three tough games in an intense period makes it a steep learning curve, but we came out of last years tournament with three good performances."

"This year's squad has less experience, so we will be looking to the senior players to provide the leadership.  Canada and the New Zealand Maori again offer international class opposition and I think the tournament plays an important role in developing the players experience at this level."

Ireland A Squad:

Forwards (15):

Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon/Ulster)

Sean Cronin (Shannon/Munster)

Andrew Farley (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Declan Fitzpatrick (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

John Fogarty (Buccaneers/Connacht) Captain

David Gannon (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Ray Hogan (Galwegians/Connacht)

Stephen Keogh (Shannon/Leinster)

John Lyne (Lansdowne/Leinster)

John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)

*Johnny O'Connor (Wasps)

John O'Sullivan (Garryowen/Munster)

Michael Ross (Harlequins)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

*Roger Wilson (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Backs (13):

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)

*Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)

John Hearty (Galwegians/Connacht)

Ian Humphreys (Leicester)

Chris Keane (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Seamus Mallon (Northampton)

Frank Murphy (Leicester)

Johnny Murphy (Leicester)

Paul McKenzie (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Fergus McFadden (UCD/Leinster)

Danny Riordan (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Johnny Sexton (St.Mary's College/Leinster)

Not considered:

Bryn Cunningham (Dungannon/Ulster)

Darragh Hurley (UCC/Munster)

Matt Lacey (Galwegians/Connacht)

Ronnie McCormack (UCD/Leinster)

Eugene McGovern (Garryowen/Munster)

Matt McCullough (Ballymena/Ulster)

Conor O'Loughlin (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Brian O'Riordan (Bristol)

Donncha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

Cillian Willis (UCD/Leinster)

N.B. *Capped at full international level

Tour Management:

Michael Bradley (Coach)

Allen Clarke (Assistant Coach)

Joey Miles (Manager)

George Murray (Video Analysis)

Simon Harland (Physiotherapist)

Des Ryan (Fitness Advisor)

Ireland Schedule:

Saturday, 19th May 2007: Ireland A v. Canada at Sandy Park, Exeter (20.00 kick off)

Tuesday, 29th May 2007: New Zealand Maori v. Ireland A at Sandy Park, Exeter (20.00 kick off)

Saturday 2nd June 2007: Barclays Churchill Cup Finals Day at Twickenham Stadium

Ticket information is available on the tournament website