This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands Under-18s call up Maguire

28 December 2007

The Midlands have called up North Midlands flanker Tom Maguire for their final Under-18 Divisional match of the season against the North at Broadstreet on Sunday December 30 (1.30 pm).
Maguire, of Bromsgrove School and Moseley, replaces David Askew of Warwick School, Worcester and Warwickshire who was injured in the Divisional Festival at Broadstreet last weekend.
Staffordshire lock Josh Cartwright (Hartpury College and Burton) also misses out because of an injury sustained in the defeat by London & SE last Sunday so his place goes to James Freeman (Bromsgrove School, Camp Hill and North Midlands) who played in the Festival opener against the South West last Friday.
Two Midlands players, centre Oliver Grove (Rugby School, Worcester and Warwickshire) and flanker Matt Everard (Queen Elizabeth II, Leicester and Leicestershire) impressed the England selectors sufficiently at last weekend's festival to have already been included in a squad for training at Bromsgrove School from January 4 to 6. They will be in the England squad preparing for the AER (Association of European Rugby) tournament in Treviso, Italy in March.
The remaining Midlands players will have an opportunity to press their claims for inclusion in the England squad against the North.
Centre Andy Short ( Worcester Sixth Form College, Worcester and North Midlands) will be particularly to make an impression because he was forced to sit out the festival because of illness. He takes Grove's place against the North.
Dominic Taylor (Hartpury College, Burton and Staffordshire) takes Everard's place on the openside having played out of position at blindside last weekend.
Midlands Under-18s: 15 Jack Pons (Bromsgrove School, Moseley and North Midlands); 14 Michael Allen (Stamford School and Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire), 13 Guy Michels (Stamford School and NL&D), 12 Andy Short (Worcester Sixth Form College, Worcester and North Midlands), 11 Earl Collins (Rugby School, Old Coventrians and Warwickshire); 10 David Marshall (Nottingham HS, Nottingham and NL&D), 9 Darryl Veenendaal (Oakham School, Bedford Blues and East Midlands); 1 Sean McCarthy (Warwick School, Worcester and Warwickshire), 2 Robert Beddard (Hartpury College, Burton and Staffordshire), 3 Alex Waller (Wellingborough School, Northampton Saints and East Midlands), 4 Chris Bailey (Bromsgrove School, Worcester and North Midlands), 5 James Freeman (Bromsgrove School, Camp Hill and North Midlands), 6 Tom Maguire (Bromsgrove School, Moseley and North Midlands), 7 Dominic Taylor (Hartpury College, Burton and Staffordshire), 8 James Ingle (Bedford School, Ampthill and East Midlands). Replacements: Daniel Croll (St Joseph's College, Newcastle-under-Lyme and Staffordshire), Luke Massey (King Edward VI School, Lichfield, Lichfield and Staffordshire), Richard Wilson (Newcastle-under-Lyme and Staffordshire), Ryan Simpson (Nottingham & NL&D), John Revell (West Notts College, Mansfield and NL&D), Adam Woodfield (Nuneaton and Warwickshire), Luke Willmott (High Pavement College, Paviors and NL&D).