This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

South West name revised Under-18 squad

27 December 2007

The South West Under-18 selectors have called up ten new players for their third and final Divisional match against London & SE at Maidenehead on Sunday December 30 (2pm).
The changes have been made following the Divisional Festival at Broadstreet last weekend which saw 11 South West players being invited to train with the England Under-18 squad preparing for the AER (Association of European Rugby) Tournament in Treviso, Italy in March at Bromsgrove School from January 4 to 6. Two more South West players, hooker David Blackwell (Hartpury College, Gloucester and Gloucestershire) and winger Christian Wade (RGS High Wycombe, London Wasps and Buckinghamshire) have been invited to train with the England Under-18 Conference squad preparing for the Six Nations Tournament in Cork in April.
The South West players already invited to train with the England AER squad are: Tighthead props Shaun Knight (St Peter's School, Gloucester, Gloucester and Gloucestershire) and Kane Newport (Beecham Cliff School, Bath and Somerset), loosehead props Leigh Green (St Peter's School, Gloucester, Gloucester and Gloucestershire) and Yann Thomas (Weston-super Mare and Somerset), hooker Jimmy Stevens (Truro College, Redruth and Cornwall), locks Dan Wright (St Peter's School, Gloucester, Gloucester and Gloucestershire) and Rhys Jones (Corsham School, Corsham and Dorset & Wiltshire), back-row forwards Richard Jenkins (Ivybridge Community College, South West Regional Academy and Devon) and Jake Parker (Millfield School, SWERA and Cornwall), winger Reuben Haile (St Peter's School, Gloucester, Gloucester and Gloucestershire) and centre Nick Scott (Colston's Collegiate, Bristol and Gloucestershire).
The newcomers selected for the game at Maidenhead include Somerset hooker Oliver Hayes who was called into the North squad as a replacement for their opening game at Broadstreet last Friday against the North.
The South West squad also includes London fly-half Craig Ratford (Twyford College, London Wasps and Middlesex) who has been selected at the request of the England selectors who want another opportunity to see him play.
Sunday's Divisional match offers a final opportunity for players to impress the England selectors before the full training squad for the session at Bronmsgrove School is announced.
South West squad.
Backs:Richard Bright (Ivybidge Community College, SWERA and Devon), Will Beech (Bishop Wordsworth's School and Dorset & Wiltshire), Rhys Howells (Wellington College and Berkshire), Ben Loosemore (St John's Community College, Swindon and Dorset & Wiltshire), Mark Lee (Ivybridge CC, SWERA and Devon), Jonathan May (Hartpury College and Dorset & Wiltshire), Billy Harris (Truro College, Mounts Bay and Cornwall), Alex Stevenson (Bloxham School, Banbury and Oxfordshire), Craig Ratford (Twyford College, London Wasps and Middlesex), Mike Craven (Hartpury College, Gloucester and Gloucestershire), Sam Arnott (St Peter's School, Gloucester and Gloucestershire).
Forwards: Rupert Freestone (Bryanston School and Dorset & Wiltshire), Oliver Hayes (Bath and Somerset), Will Davis (Filton College, Dings Crusaders and Gloucestershire), Jack Green (Dorset & Wiltshire), Jamie Gregory (Berkshire), Max Clilverd (Clifton and Dorset & Wiltshire), George Flemming (Ivybridge CC, Exeter Chiefs and Devon), Darren Barry (Filton College, Bristol and Gloucestershire), Jordan Wood (Aylesbury GS, Chinnor and Oxfordshire), James Harris (Exeter School, Exeter Chiefs and Devon), Nick Huntley (Blundell's School and Devon), Ryan Long (Burnham GS, Drifters and Buckinghamshire).