This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Teams named for Barclays Churchill Cup Finals Day

31 May 2007

Thursday 31st May 2007

All six teams have declared their teams ahead of Saturday's Barclays Churchill Cup Finals day at Twickenham.

First up is the evenly matched contest between USA and Canada - ranked 13th and 14th in the world respectively.  The two teams have met in three Barclays Churchill Cup Finals before - Canada having won twice and USA once.  The match for the Barclays Churchill Cup Bowl kicks off at 11.30am.

Second match of the day is between Scotland A and Ireland A who will compete for the Barclays Churchill Cup Plate.  Scotland A have made six changes to their side who are coached by Frank Hadden.  Ireland A put in an impressive first half performance against the New Zealand Maori on Tuesday and are the current holders of the Plate trophy.  Kick off is at 1.45pm.

The finale to the day is the Barclays Churchill Cup Final at 4.30pm between England Saxons and the New Zealand Maori.  This match marks the first time since 1926 that that Maori have played at Twickenham and interestingly the last time these two teams met (in Canada in 2004) the score was 19 26 to the Maori.

England have lost Nick Abendanon but have Danny Cipriani and Olly Barkely involved and retain a strong team.  Neal Hatley will once again captain.   The Maori are the current Barclays Churchill Cup champions and have won the trophy both times that they have participated in the tournament.  Rua Tipoki will once again captain and speculation is already high as to which haka the team will perform before kick off - having suprised the Exeter crowd on Tuesday night with a different version.

Tickets to all three matches will be on sale at Twickenham on Saturday from �20 for adults and �10 for juniors.
Barclays Churchill Cup Bowl Final

Twickenham Stadium, Saturday 2 June, kick off 11.30am


US Eagles:

15 Francois Viljoen

14 Chris Wyles

13 Paul Emerick

12 Albert Tuipulotu

11 Sika Salesi

10 Malifa Valenese

9 Kjar Kimball

1 Mike MacDonald

2 Mark Crick

3 Chris Osentowski

4 Hayden Mexted

5 Mike Mangan

6 Mark Aylor

7 Todd Clever

8 Louis Stanfill



16 Blake Burdette

17 Mike French

18 Inaki Basauri

19 Dan Payne

20 Tasi Mounga

21 David Williams

22 Vaha Esikia

23 Andrew Osbourne


1. Tkachuk, Kevin              

2. Riordan, Pat                    

3. Franklin, Scott               

4. Tait, Luke                        

5. Yukes, Colin                

6. McKeen, Stan                 

7. Kleeberger, Adam         

8.  Stephen, Sean-Michael  Bezier (Fr.)                                      

9. Williams, Morgan    Capt.      

10. Smith, Ryan                  

11. Pritchard, James         

12. Spicer, David

13. Culpan, Craig               

14. Mensah-Coker, Justin  Albi (Fr.)                                   

15. Pyke, Mike                   



16. Carpenter, Aaron        

17. Pletch, Dan                   

18. Pletch, Mike                 

19. Jackson, Josh              

20. Dala, Nanyak Wild Oats                                          

21. Fairhurst, Ed Cardiff(Wales)                                    

22. Van Camp, Dean       


Barclays Churchill Cup Plate Final

Twickenham Stadium, Saturday 2 June, kick off 1.45pm


Scotland A:

15 Simon Danielli (Border Reivers)

14 Simon Webster (Edinburgh Rugby)

13 Calum MacRae (Border Reivers)*

12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)

11 Thom Evans (Glasgow Warriors)

10 Phil Godman (Edinburgh Rugby)

9 Rob Chrystie (Border Reivers)

1 Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby)*

2 Scott Lawson (Glasgow Warriors)*

3 Craig Smith (Edinburgh Rugby)

Andrew Hall (Newport Gwent Dragons)

5 Mark Rennie (Bourgoin)

6 Alasdair Strokosch (Edinburgh Rugby)*

8 Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors)*

7 Donnie Macfadyen (Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN




16 Fergus Thomson (Glasgow Warriors)*

17 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors)

18 Craig Hamilton (Border Reivers)

19 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)*

20 Steve Swindall (Glasgow Warriors)

21 Mark McMillan (London Wasps)*

22 Nick De Luca (Border Reivers)



Ireland A:

15 - Johnny Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
14 - Paul McKenzie (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
13 - Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
12 - Seamus Mallon (Northampton)
11 - Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)
10 - Johnny Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
9 - Frank Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
1 - John Lyne (Lansdowne/Leinster)
2 - John Fogarty (Buccaneers/Connacht) (capt)
3 - Michael Ross (NEC Harlequins)
4 - Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon/Ulster)
5 - Andrew Farley (Buccaneers/Connacht)
6 - John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)
7 - *Johnny O'Connor (London Wasps)
8 - *Roger Wilson (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)



16 - Sean Cronin (Shannon/Munster)
17 - Declan Fitzpatrick (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
18 - Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
19 - John O'Sullivan (Garryowen/Munster)
20 - Chris Keane (Buccaneers/Connacht)
21 - Ian Keatley (UCD/Leinster)
22 - Fergus McFadden (UCD/Leinster)
N.B. *Capped at full international level




Barclays Churchill Cup Final

Twickenham Stadium, Saturday 2 June, kick off 4.30pm


England Saxons

15 Danny Cipriani (London Wasps)
14 Paul Sackey (London Wasps)*
13 Kevin Sorrell (Saracens)
12 Nils Mordt (London Irish)
11 Tom Voyce (London Wasps)*
10 Olly Barkley (Bath Rugby)*
9 Richard Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks)
1 Neal Hatley (London Irish, captain)
2 David Paice (London Irish)
3 John Brooks (Northampton Saints)
4 Richard Blaze (Worcester Warriors)
5 Jim Evans (NEC Harlequins)
6 James Haskell (London Wasps)*
7 Will Skinner (NEC Harlequins)
8 Phil Dowson (Newcastle Falcons)

16 Matt Thompson (Newcastle Falcons)
17 Jack Forster (Gloucester Rugby)
18 Tom Mercey (Saracens)
19 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
20 Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers)
21 Lee Dickson (Newcastle Falcons)
22 Ayoola Erinle (London Wasps)

* denotes capped players

New Zealand Maori

1. Craig West
2. Aled de Malamanche
3. Ben May
4. Kristian Ormsby
5. Hayden Triggs
6. Angus MacDonald
7. Tanerau Latimer
8. Warren Smith
9. Chris Smylie
10. Tamati Ellison
11. Anthony Tahana
12. Rua Tipoki (captain)
13. Dwayne Sweeney
14. Hosea Gear
15. Shannon Paku

16. Luke Mahoney
17. Tui Hoani
18. Isaac Ross
19. Scott Waldrom
20. James Rodley
21. Calum Bruce
22. Pehi Te Whare