This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Holders away in National Colts Cup

31 August 2008

Bedford Blues, the holders of the National Colts Cup, will begin their attempt to win a third consecutive title with a trip to Melton Mowbray in this season's first round.
Bedford won their second National Colts Cup in May when they beat Nuneaton 39-16 in the final at Northampton and now face a trip to Leicestershire in the opening game of their title defence in a game to be played on or before September 28.
Moseley, who won the inaugural National Colts Cup ten years ago, have been given a bye to the second round where they will travel to play the winners of the Lichfield v Worcester Students first round tie.
The National Colts Cup was introduced in the 1997/98 season as part of the East Midlands RFU's Centenary Year. The plate competition, for sides beaten in rounds one to three of the Cup, was brought in two years later.
Both competitions continue to be organised and administered by the East Midlands RU and continue to attract increasing entries from clubs across the country each season.
National Colts Cup, fist round draw:
Midlands East: Wellingborough OG v Old Northamptonians, Northampton Old Scouts v Olney, Melton Mowbray v Bedford Blues, Shelford v Hinckley, Scunthorpe v Oundle, Lutterworth v Market Bosworth, Dunstablians v Leighton Buzzard, Nottingham v Towcestrians, Boston v Newark, Luton v Market Harborough, Ampthill v Kettering, Biggleswade v Northampton BBOB, Wellingborough v Syston, Huntingdon v Leicester Forest, Oadby Wyggestonians v Leicester Vipers, Long Buckby v Mansfield.
Midlands West: Kenilworth v Barkers' Butts, Luctonians v Bromsgrove, Burton v Leamington, Earlsdon v Dudley Kingswinford, Bedworth v Willenhall, Matlock v Worcester Wanderers, Derby v Bromyard, Whitchurch v Old Halesonians, Old Coventrians v Nuneaton, Lichfield v Worcester Students.
Ties to be played on or before September 28.