This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

London & South East name U18 squad for Divisional Festival

30 December 2008

December 30, 2008

The London & South East selectors have named their squad for the Divisional Festival this weekend (January 2-4, 2009), following a narrow defeat by a strong London Academies XV in a warm-up match.


London & South East U18 led 14-10 at half-time in the friendly at Fullerians RFC (on December 21) before going down 25-19 to a team drawn from the England Rugby Academies based at Harlequins, London Irish, London Wasps and Saracens.


In the annual Divisional Festival at Broadstreet RFC near Coventry, London & South East U18 will take on the Midlands Division on Friday January 2 (2pm). The respective winners and losers from that match and Friday's other fixture between the South West and the North will meet on Sunday January 4 (11am and 1pm).


Kent full back Ben Ransom is unavailable for the Midlands match so Christopher Rose of Middlesex has been brought in as cover.


The London & South East squad includes three England Under 16 caps from last season - Sam Stanley, Joe Atkinson and Kit McCartney - and five players who represented the England U16 A team in 2008: Ali Bone, Mike Hogan, Sam Northcote-Green, Ransom and Marland Yarde.


London & South East Under 18 squad, Divisional Festival, January 2-4, 2009:



William Alkin, full back (Kent, Canterbury High School and Ashford RFC)

Jamie Hearn, wing (Hertfordshire, Oaklands College and Saracens Academy)

Mike Hogan, scrum half (Eastern Counties, Moulton College and West Norfolk RUFC)

Matt Keyte, scrum half (Surrey Dulwich College and Harlequins Academy)

Toby Quarendon, centre (Surrey, Cranleigh School and Richmond FC)

Ben Ransom, full back (Kent, Tonbridge School and Saracens Academy)

Craig Ratford, fly half (Middlesex, Twyford CE High School and London Wasps)

Christopher Rose, wing (Middlesex, Richmond-upon-Thames and Ealing RFC)

Henry Staff, centre (Hertfordshire, Bedford Modern and Saracens Academy)

Sam Stanley, centre (Essex, Oaklands College and Saracens Academy)

Andrew Stredwick, centre (Hertfordshire, Dame Alice Owens School and Old Albanian RFC)

Marland Yarde, wing (Middlesex, Whitgift School and London Irish Academy)



Joe Atkinson, flanker (Hampshire, Churcher's College and London Irish Amateurs RFC)

Peter Austin, hooker (Hampshire, St Paul's Catholic College and London Irish Academy)

Ali Bone, No 8 (Middlesex, Harrow School and Marlow RFC)

Rob Buchanan, prop (Sussex, St Bede's School and Harlequins Academy)

Will Collier, prop (Surrey, Cranleigh School and Harlequins Academy)

Josh Elliott, hooker (Surrey, Dulwich College and Old Alleynians RFC)

David Francis, flanker (Middlesex, Twyford College and London Wasps Academy)

Joe Launchbury, second row (Sussex and Christ's Hospital)

Kieran Low, No 8 (Sussex, Havant College and Chichester RFC)

Max Maidment, prop (Sussex, Brighton College and Haywards Heath RFC)

Charlie Matthews, second row (Sussex, Hurstpeirpoint College and Harlequins Academy)

Kit McCartney, prop (Essex, Wanstead High School and Saracens)

Sam Northcote-Green, flanker (Surrey, Dulwich College and London Wasps Academy)

James Speirs, No 8 (Hertfordshire, Roundwood Park and Harpenden RFC)

Matthew Steele, second row (Hertfordshire, Dame Alice Owens School and Cheshunt RFC)





IBM TryTracker