This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

London & South East Under 16s trial teams named

12 December 2008

December 12, 2008


The London & South East Under 16 selectors have picked their players for the 2008-09 divisional trial at the Woollam Playing Fields, St Albans School in Hertfordshire on Sunday (December 14).


A total of 284 players from eight counties were graded during 12 inter-county matches, and 98 boys were considered during a preliminary trial held at the same St Albans venue on November 30. After a development camp in midweek (December 10-11), two teams and a list of reserves were named to play on Sunday.


"The task on Sunday is to select a squad of 22 players to represent the London & South East division in matches against two of the three other divisions - the North and the South West - at Broadstreet RFC, Coventry over the period January 9-11, 2009," said David Turner, chairman of selectors. "That will be preceded by a Development Camp on January 3 and 4 at St Albans.


"Some players are likely to proceed to an England Development Squad or even an England side. Others may have the opportunity to play in one or more divisional games, currently planned to be against Midlands Division, Leinster and Munster."


The London & South East U16 management and coaching team is Mick Eyres (manager), Edmund Perry (secretary), David Turner (chairman of selectors), David Wickes (lead coach), Peter Coke (forwards coach) and Steve Robins (backs coach).


London & South East divisional trial teams:

(School, Club where appropriate, County)



15 Jack Masters (The King's School Canterbury, Kent)

14 David Onyeme (Langley School Norwich and Eastern Counties)

13 Elliott Daly (Whitgift School, Dorking RFC, Surrey)

12 James Middleton (Wellington College, Wasps RFC, Middlesex)

11 Mark Tamba (Perins School, Waterlooville, Hampshire)

10 Stephen Boatman (Hampton School, Camberley RFC, Middlesex)

9 Fred Gulliford (St George's Harpenden, Old Albanians RFC, Hertfordshire)


1 Nick Auterac (Mill Hill School, Saracens RFC, Middlesex)

2 Harrison George (Norwich School, Norwich RFC, Eastern Counties)

3 Kyle Sinkler (Graveney School, London Scottish RFC, Surrey)

4 George Merrick (Carshalton Boys Sports College, London Scottish RFC, Surrey)

5 Jack Haddow (Watford Grammar School, Wasps RFC, Middlesex)

6 Tom Knight (Reepham High School, North Walsham RFC, Eastern Counties)

7 Paymahn Seyed-Safi (Brighton College, Sussex)

8 Alex Stout (Royal Grammar School Guildford, Cobham RFC, Surrey).



15 Cameron Prentice (Portsmouth Grammar School, Havant RFC, Hampshire)

14 Nathan Yarde (Trinity School Croydon, Chipstead RFC, Surrey)

13 Ian Meads (Anglo-European School, Woodford RFC, Essex)

12 Ben Axten Burrett (John Fisher School Purley, Chipstead RFC, Surrey)

11 Elliott McLean (Woodcote High School, Chipstead RFC, Surrey)

10 Rob Stephen (The King's School Canterbury, Kent)

9 Joseph Srokowski (Norwich School, Norwich RFC, Eastern Counties)


1 Kieron Ball (Felsted School, Romford & Gidea Park RFC, Essex)

2 Callum Black (Swanmore College, Winchester RFC, Hampshire)

3 Sean Jones (Campion School, Barking RFC, Essex)

4 George Fenton (Norwich School, Norwich RFC, Eastern Counties)

5 David Sisi (Hounsdown School, Tottononians RFC, Hampshire)

6 Joe Cousens (Wymondham College, Wymondham RFC, Eastern Counties)

7 Matt Hankin (Langley Park School, Blackheath FC, Kent)

8 Scott Spurling (Haberdashers' Aske's School, Wasps FC, Middlesex).


Reserves who may play (number indicates position):

1 Tim Webber (Dereham Nethergate School, Eastern Counties)

2 Rob Jones (Richard Hale School, Hertford RFC, Hertfordshire)

2 Robert Paterson (Abbotsfield School, London Scottish FC, Middlesex)

3 Alistair Tang (Queen Elizabeth's School Barnet, Hertfordshire)

3 David Coutts (Mill Chase Technology College, Cobham RFC, Hampshire)

4 Tom Crawford (Chislehurst & Sidcup GS, Blackheath FC, Kent)

6 Murray Galbraith-Lowe (Skinners School, Tunbridge Wells RFC, Kent)

6 Joe Walker (Reeds School, Esher RFC, Surrey)

8 James Caulfield (St John Payne School, Braintree RFC, Essex)

10 Harry Downing (Wymondham College, North Walsham RFC, Eastern Counties)

12 Ben Francis (Epsom College, Dorking RFC, Surrey)

15 Jonathan Walker (St Paul's School, Surrey)

15 Mike Bishay (Sunbury Manor School, London Scottish FC, Middlesex).