This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

North Under 16s on England trail

02 January 2008

January 2, 2008

After a very encouraging Trial match at Cheadle Hulme School for the North Under 16s squad, 26 players emerged to join the selection list for the North Division's team that will compete in an inter-divisional series of games from which the final England squad will be chosen.

Yorkshire dominated the inter-county matches, and it was not surprising to see 16 of the 26 names from the White Rose colours. Of the other counties, Ormkirk RUFC have provided four players from a club squad amounting to 50 players at the age group.

The England selectors indicated certain weaknesses seen in the other Divisional Trials, by ensuring that three players who were unable to attend through illness or injury were carried through to prove their fitness at the next stage, when both Chairman of Selectors, Lloyd Morgan, and England Head Coach, Gareth Rees, will be on hand.

The next stage is a squad weekend to be held at King Edward & Queen Mary School, Lytham starting on Saturday (January 5). The squad will play a warm-up fixture against Lancashire Under 17s on Sunday 6th, kick off 12.00pm, the North Division looking to avenge a 12 - 0 defeat of twelve months earlier.

A week later, with coaches Richard Wareham and Simon Baker, the squad moves onto the Divisional Festival at Broadstreet RUFC (Coventry) where the initial England selection will be made.

Players who have not made the list may still be called up, depending on how many North boys are lost to England, and the positional requirements for the �North and Midlands' v �London & SE and South West' fixtures at the second Divisional Festival at the end of January.

Forwards: Daniel Keene, Cheshire (Sedbergh School & Stockport), Max Ashcroft, Lancashire (Hutton GS & Tarleton), Lewis McKay, Lancashire (William Hulme GS & Sedgley Park), David Markham, Lancashire (Rainford HS & Ormskirk), Ben Vernon, Lancashire (Hutton GS), George Birkenshaw, Yorkshire (Eccleshall & Rotherham Titans), Scott Briggs, Yorkshire (Meadowhead School & Rotherham Titans), Charlie Clare, Yorkshire (Sedbergh School & North Walsham), Elliot Brierley (Sedbergh School & Wilmslow), Ben Morris, Yorkshire (Kings Pontefract & Pontefract), Harry Rowan, Yorkshire (Bradford GS), Tom Schofield, Yorkshire (South Hunsley & Hull Ionians), Chris Walker, Yorkshire (Settle College & North Ribblesdale).

Backs: Andy Davies, Cheshire (Lymm HS), Cameron Mitchell, Durham (Yarm & Darlington), Ryan Glynn, Lancashire (Sedbergh & Ormskirk), Ross O'Neill, Lancashire (Merchant Taylors & Ormskirk), John Pape, Lancashire (Rainford HS & Ormskirk), Josh Allan, Yorkshire (North Halifax GS & Old Brodleians), Tom Barrett, Yorkshire (Sedbergh School), George Elliott, Yorkshire (Easingwold & Leeds Carnegie), George Ford, Yorkshire (Rishworth School), Christian Georgiou, Yorkshire (North Halifax GS & Old Brodleians), Chris McTurk, Yorkshire (St Peter's York), Oliver Shaw, Yorkshire (Bradford GS), Sam Stuart, Yorkshire (Sedbergh School).



IBM TryTracker