This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Hampshire through to National Under 20 semi-finals

31 March 2008

March 31, 2008


Hampshire defeated Middlesex 26-14 on Sunday (March 30) to qualify as the London & South East representatives for the semi-finals of the National Under 20 Championship.


The two counties had won their respective London & South East round-robin groups and they played off at the Army Stadium in Aldershot for the right to face the qualifiers from the South West in an away tie on the weekend of April 19/20.


The National Under 20 Championship final is at Twickenham on Saturday May 10, 2008 (11am).


Three penalty goals by fly half Ben Rubio had Hampshire 9-7 up against Middlesex at half-time.


Hampshire fell behind 14-9 but pushed on to win in the final quarter with tries by No 8 Liam Perkins and second row Rob Good, both converted by Rubio who also added a fourth penalty with seven minutes remaining.


Hampshire's win earned them the inaugural �Jason Leonard and London & SE Trophy', named after the RFU Council member, former England prop and Essex rugby favourite.


National Under-20 Championship results 2007-08:


London & South East final:


March 30

Hampshire 26 Middlesex 14 (at Aldershot Stadium) - Hampshire qualify for national semi-finals


London & South East Group A


January 27

Middlesex 17 Essex 17 (West London RFC)

Surrey 24 Kent 22 (Dorking RFC)


February 17

Essex 28 Surrey 24 (Woodford RFC)

Kent 13 Middlesex 33 (Sidcup RFC)


March 2

Essex 25 Kent 20 (Rochford Hundred RFC)

Middlesex 23 Surrey 9 (West London RFC)


Winners: Middlesex, 2nd Essex, 3rd Surrey, 4th Kent.


London & South East Group B


January 27

Army 17 Sussex 15 (Aldershot Stadium)

Hampshire 61 Hertfordshire 10 (Winchester RFC)


February 17

Army 7 Hampshire 7 (Aldershot Stadium)

Sussex 31 Hertfordshire 15 (Chichester RFC)


March 2

Hampshire 63 Sussex 5 (Winchester RFC)

Hertfordshire 14 Army 18 (Hertford RFC)


Winners: Hampshire, 2nd Army, 3rd Sussex, 4th Hertfordshire.


Hampshire U20 squad: Lenny Brown (Southampton University), Karl Buttle (Basingstoke), Tim Cronin (London Irish), David Felton (Jersey), Jamie Folan (Basingstoke), Rob Good (London Irish), Simon Gregory (Portsmouth), Glen Lewis (Basingstoke), Kyle MacDonald (South Downs College), Daniel Mays (Old Patesians), Calum McGregor (Newbury), Kieran McRoberts, (Gosport & Fareham), James Monck (UWIC), Paul Morgan (Newbury), Matthew Oliver, (Basingstoke), Philippe Pearse (Redruth), Liam Perkins (Gosport & Fareham), Luke Richardson, (Basingstoke), Dan Robinson (Vectis), Ben Rubio (Lord Wandsworth College),  Oliver Taylor (Winchester), Michael Thomas (Portsmouth University), Oliver Watts (Newbury), Thomas Whyld (Gosport & Fareham).