This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands Under 16 selectors name final trial squads

08 December 2009

  • Selectors have named 48 hopefuls for the final Midlands Under-16 trial
  • The young players are aiming for a place in the Divisional Festival squad

The Midlands Under-16 selectors have named 48 players to take part in the final Midlands Trial which will be played at Longton's Trentham Lakes ground in Stoke on December 13 (1pm).

The players will be divided into two squads for a Blues v Reds match which will be their last chance to impress the Midlands selectors before they name a squad to take part in the first Divisional Festival at Broadstreet RFC near Coventry on January 10.

The players involved in the final trial were selected after impressing in the recent programme of inter-county matches and after an assessment session last weekend.

All players invited to the final trial will start in one of the two periods of the game.


15 Matthew Molyneux (Coloner Frank Seeley School and Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire); 14 William Hartley (Solihull School and Warwickshire), 13 Joseph Nellany (Warwick School and Warwickshire), 12 Max Stelling (Old Swinford Hospital School and Staffordshire), 11 Richard Synott (Bablake School and Warwickshire); 10 Tom Sharwood (Bishop Perowne School and North Midlands), 9 James Lee-Everton (Avon Valley School and Leicestershire); 1 Damian Poole (Bromsgrove School and North Midlands), 2 Carlton Stowbridge (Northampton GS and East Midlands), 3 Henri Da Costa (Campion School and East Midlands), 4 Morgan Robinson (Joseph Whittaker School and NLD), 5 Alex Hawthorn (Aldridge CS and Staffordshire), 6 William Skingsley (Bedford Modern School and East Midlands), 7 Thomas Roberts (Caistor Yarborough School and NLD), 8 Benedict Wiegman (Rugby School and East Midlands).

Replacements: Samuel Craddock (The Friary School and Staffordshire), Harry Thracker (Leicester GS and Leicestershire), Thomas Handford (Dixie GS and Leicestershire), Benjamin Latimer (Aylesbury GS and East Midlands), Thomas Jefferson (Oakham School and Leicestershire), Jack Baxter (Ellesmere College and Staffordshire), Ben Cooper (Bablake School and Warwickshire), James Arney (Solihull School and Warwickshire), Harry Ellis (Lawrence Sheriff School and Warwickshire).


15 Lee Mellotti (William Parker School and East Midlands); 14 Lewis Bodily (Sponne School and East Midlands), 13 Ryan Millar (King Edward's Birmingham and North Midlands), 12 Jordan Husband (Northampton School for Boys and East Midlands), 11 Corey Venus (Woodlands School and Leicestershire); 10 George Humphreys (Bedford School and East Midlands), 9 Sam Waltier (Bromsgrove School and North Midlands); 1 Jared Parkinson (Woodlands School and NLD), 2 Lewis Grinsall (Solihull School and North Midlands), 3 James Thrives (Highfields School and NLD), 4 Harry Wells (King's School Peterborough and NLD), 5 Harry Ley (Princethorpe College and Warwickshire), 6 Joshua Buggea (Bablake School and Warwickshire), 7 Harry Nuttall (King's School Worcester and North Midlands), 8 Daniel Young (Bromsgrove School and North Midlands).

Replacements: Timothy Trace (Solihull School and Warwickshire), Sebastian Green (DA Sutton Coldfield and Staffordshire), Jack Cosgrove (Coundon Court and Warwickshire), Eoin Lewis (Loughborough College and Leicestershire), Edward Tunnicliffe (Coundon Court and Warwickshire), Samuel Pointon (Rugby School and East Midlands), Oliver Claxton (Adams GS and Staffordshire), Alex Ramsey (Minster School and North Midlands), Felix Streeton (Bedford School and East Midlands).