This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Female match officials set to make history at Women’s Rugby World Cup 2010

17 December 2009

  • Ten female referees included in WRWC 2010
  • England’s Clare Daniels and Debbie Innes named on match official panel

English official Clare Daniels, who has been named on the Match Official Panel for the Women's Rugby World Cup in England in 2010

Photo: RFU Archive

The sixth Women’s Rugby World Cup in England next year will be another landmark event in the history of women’s rugby.

Not only is the showcase fifteen-a-side tournament set to break new ground in broadcast and attendance figures, elevating the profile of the women’s game to new heights, the International Rugby Board has announced that ten of the world’s leading female referees will be included in the panel of 14 match officials for the tournament, which kicks off on August 20, 2010.

From England, Clare Daniels is one of 11 referees selected and the Match Official Panel will also feature another English female official Debbie Innes. The other experienced officials include Sarah Corrigan (Australia), Joyce Henry (Canada), Lee Wing Yi Gabriel (Hong Kong), Dana Teagarden (USA), Sherry Trumbull (Canada) and Nicky Inwood (New Zealand), will be joined by David Keane (Ireland), Andrew McMenemy (Scotland), Sébastien Minery (France) and Javier Mancuso (Argentina), Kerstin Ljungdahl (Germany) and Barbara Guastini (Italy).

"The selection of 10 female match officials represents the increasing depth of refereeing talent within international women’s rugby," said IRB Referee Manager Paddy O’Brien.

"This selection represents a great opportunity for referees who have proven themselves on the women’s international scene to showcase their ability in the world’s premier women’s rugby tournament. It will be a very exciting moment for the women’s game."

The Women’s Rugby World Cup 2010 kicks off on August 20 with the 12 best teams in the world competing for the sport’s most prestigious prize. The pool games will be held at the impressive new Surrey Sports Park in Guildford with the semi finals and final at the Harlequins’ Stoop on September 1 and 5 respectively. Host nation England are ranked second for the tournament.