This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Teams named for London & South East U16 final trial

17 December 2009

  • London & South East selectors name teams for final trial
  • New Year matches against Midlands and North

The London & South East Under 16 selectors have named two teams for a final divisional trial at St Albans School on Sunday December 20 (12pm), ahead of January’s national festival matches against two other English divisions.

New head coach Peter Coke will be among those running the rule over the U16 hopefuls who have been chosen from 246 players graded in the course of 13 inter-county matches, and 93 who attended a preliminary trial a fortnight ago.

Sunday’s trial match will be followed by the selection of a squad of 22 players to attend a development camp, also at St Albans, on January 2/3, 2010, followed by matches against Midlands U16 at Broadstreet RFC near Coventry on Sunday January 10 (1pm), and the North U16 at the same venue on January 24 (11am).

Players will be hopeful of going on to emulate the seven London & South East players who earned England U16 caps last season, or the quartet who represented England U16 A.

Light Blue Team

15 Guy Bentley (Hampton School & Richmond RFC)
14 James Deehan (St Bernard’s Grammar School & Ealing RFC)
13 Alex Miers (Perins Community & Winchester RFC) 
12 Harry Sloan (The Skinners’ School & Cranbrook RFC) 
11 Jordan Burns (Epsom College & Cobham RFC)
10 James Doe (The Oratory School & Havant RFC)
9 George Taylor (Tiffin School & Cobham RFC)

1 Thomas Rhodes (Flegg High School & North Walsham RFC)
2 Max Crumpton (The King John School & Westcliff RFC)
3 Harry Elrington (Heathside School & Reeds Weybridge RFC)
4 Conor O’Toole (All Saints Catholic School & Barking RUFC)
5 Jack Ramshaw (Bay House School & Winchester RFC)
6 Harry Ledger (Whitgift School & Sutton and Epsom RFC)
7 Gabriel Carroll (St Joseph’s College & Sudbury RFC)
8 Alex Bradley (Bishop Wordsworth School & Andover RFC)

Green Team

15 Billy Maddock (Lord Wandsworth College & Richmond RFC)
14 Henry Lamont (Cranleigh School & Guildford RFC)
13 Nick Robinson (Beaumont  School & Old Albanians RFC)
12 George Catchpole (Norwich School & North Walsham RFC)
11 Bami Falana (Queen Elizabeth’s School, Barnet)
10 Will Hooley (The Leys School & Cambridge RFC)
9 Simon Sexton (Wellington College & London Irish RFC)

1 Tom Smallbone (London Oratory School & London Irish RFC)
2 Jamie Charlton-Little (Perins School & Winchester RFC)
3 Thomas Clarke (Oaks Park High School & Barking RUFC)
4 Tom Hilton Stevens (RGS Guildford & Cobham RFC)
5 Maro Itoje (St George’s School & Harpenden RFC)
6 Isaac Ajayi (St Ignatius College)
7 James Thompson (Cranleigh School & Guildford RFC)
8 Fraser Heathcote (The Leys School & Cambridge RFC)

Replacements who may play

12 James Wilson (City of London Freemen’s School & Sutton and Epsom RFC)
12 Tom Gannon (Westcliff High School & Bishops Stortford RFC)
11 Harry Busby (Highcliffe School & New Milton RFC)
10 Tom Diamond (Wallington County Grammar & Old Alleynians RFC)
9 Tom Chapman (Colfe’s School & Old Colfeians RFC)
1 Alfie Hutcherson (Billericay Sch & Brentwood RFC)
2 Harry Coates (Dorothy Stringer High School & Brighton RFC)
2 Nick de Brett (Tonbridge School & East Grinstead RFC)
4 Alex Calvert (Westcliff High School & South Woodham Ferrers RFC)
6 Harry Theologititis (Orleans Park School & Richmond FC)
7 Will Grist (The Judd School & Sevenoaks RFC)

Unavailable but being considered

15 Anthony Watson (St George’s College & London Irish RFC)
13 Alex Smith (Colfe’s & Old Colfeians RFC)
11 Chris Lord (St Joseph’s College & Bury St Edmunds RFC)