This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Wallabies name team to play England

05 November 2009

  • George Smith returns to Australia's starting XV on Saturday
  • Digby Ioane plays his first match at centre for the Wallabies

Australia's George Smith, who makes his 107th Wallabies appearance against England, is tackled against New Zealand

Photo: Getty Images

The return of George Smith to the starting XV, and the selection of an entirely new midfield combination featuring Digby Ioane and Quade Cooper, are the key changes to the Wallabies starting line-up for Saturday’s Cook Cup Test.

Smith, the game’s fifth most capped player, has swapped roles with the Western Force 21-year-old David Pocock from last week. He will play in his 107th Test.

Ioane plays his sixth Test match, but his first at centre, after making a successful return from injury on the wing last weekend against the All Blacks. He teams up with his state colleague Cooper, who has won selection for his eighth Test, but just his second at inside centre, after starring with 16 points from the fly half position during Tuesday night’s 36-5 win over Gloucester.

The re-positioning of Ioane in the number 13 jersey has opened the way for Drew Mitchell, who scored two tries on Tuesday night at Kingsholm, to return on the wing after he was unused from the bench in Tokyo.

The Qantas Wallabies team to play England in the Cook Cup Test at Twickenham Stadium, London, on Saturday, November 7, 2.30pm kick off, is:

15 Adam Ashley-Cooper (Brumbies)
14 Peter Hynes (Queensland Reds)
13 Digby Ioane (Queensland Reds)
12 Quade Cooper Queensland Reds)
11 Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs)
10 Matt Giteau (Brumbies)
9 Will Genia (Queensland Reds)

8 Wycliff Palu (NSW Waratahs)
7 George Smith (Brumbies)
6 Rocky Elsom (Brumbies, captain)
5 Mark Chisholm (Brumbies)
4 James Horwill (Queensland Reds)
3 Ben Alexander (Brumbies)
2 Stephen Moore (Brumbies)
1 Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs)


16 Tatafu Polota Nau (NSW Waratahs)
17 Matt Dunning (Western Force)
18 Dean Mumm (NSW Waratahs)
19 David Pocock (Western Force)
20 Luke Burgess (NSW Waratahs)
21 Ryan Cross (Western Force)
22 James O’Connor (Western Force)