This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 16s name 65 for Abingdon camp

10 February 2010

  • Lead coach Phil Stanlake and assistants to work with 65 players
  • Preparations continue for April’s international matches

The England Under 16 selectors have named a squad of 65 boys for a three-day development camp at Abingdon School in Oxfordshire on February 16-19.

The announcement follows last Sunday’s (February 7) Reds v Blues final selection match at Stowe School which ran alongside a development session for an elite squad of 35 players taken by England 16 Group lead coach Phil Stanlake.

"These 65 boys’ selection has come as the result of a lengthy programme of inter-county and inter-divisional fixtures and grading," said David Maughan, England Under 16 team manager.

"The day at Stowe was very useful and we look forward to the development work in individual and unit skills continuing at Abingdon, with practice matches to follow against quality opposition in March."

The next step after the Abingdon session will see 52 players called to meet at Warwick School on February 26-27 in England U16 and U16 A squads of 26 boys each as the preparation builds for the eagerly awaited international fixtures in April.

England U16 will take part in the annual Four Nations Tournament alongside hosts Italy, Wales and France. The England U16 A team will play three matches in the International Festival at Wellington College.

England Under 16 Development Squad

Saeed Agboke, Wing, Denstone College & Staffordshire
Jack Allcock, Open-side flanker, Sedbergh School & Cumbria
Jack Arnott, Full back, St Boniface College & Devon
Matthew Beaumont, Tight-head prop, Bradford Grammar School & Yorkshire
Guy Bentley, Full back, Hampton School & Middlesex
James Bloxham, No.8, Millfield School & Somerset
Alex Bradley, No.8, Bishop Wordsworth School & Hampshire
Callum Braley, Scrum half, Colston’s & Bristol
Jonathan Burn, Fly half, The Duchess’s Community High School & Northumberland
Jordan Burns, Wing, Epsom College & Surrey
Gabriel Carroll, Open-side flanker, St Joseph's College & Eastern Counties
George Catchpole, Centre, Norwich School & Eastern Counties
Tom Chapman, Scrum half, Colfe’s School & Kent
Jamie Charlton-Little, Hooker, Perins School & Hampshire
Oliver Cicognini, Wing, Ermysted’s Grammar School & Yorkshire
Oliver Claxton, Fly half, Adams’ Grammar School & Staffordshire
Luke Cole, Hooker, Hipperholme and Lightcliffe High School & Yorkshire
Niall Crosley, Centre, Bishop Rawstorne High School & Lancashire
Max Crumpton, Hooker, The King John School & Essex
Henri da Costa, Tight-head prop, Campion School & East Midlands
Kieran Davies, Loose-head prop, Sidmouth College & Devon
Nick de Brett, Hooker, Tonbridge School & Sussex
Ralph Dowds, Centre, King Edward VII and Queen Mary School Lytham & Lancashire
Tahir El-Mahdi, Wing, Audenshaw School & Lancashire
Antony Fitch, Wing, Queen Elizabeth's School Wimborne & Dorset & Wilts
Joshua Francis, No.8, Sacred Heart Catholic College & Lancashire
Alex Gale, Tight-head prop, Coombeshead College & Devon
Daniel Grange, Lock, Ilkley Grammar School & Yorkshire
Matt Grant, Lock, Blatchington Mill School & Sussex
Alex Hawthorn, Lock, Aldridge Comprehensive School & Staffordshire
Thomas Hilton-Stevens, Lock, RGS Guildford & Surrey
Andrew Hodgson, Centre/Fly half, The King's School Macclesfield & Cheshire
Will Hooley, Fly half, The Leys School & Eastern Counties
Jordan Husband, Centre, Northampton School for Boys & East Midlands
Callum Irvine, Fly half, Harrogate Grammar School & Yorkshire
Gus Jones, Open-side flanker, Eton College & Oxfordshire
Harry Ledger, Back row, Whitgift School & Surrey
Max Northcote-Green, Blind-side flanker, Millfield School & Somerset
Harry Nuttall, Open-side flanker, The King’s School Worcester & North Midlands
Jake Oldaker, Lock, King Edward's School Bath & Dorset & Wilts
Jared Parkinson, Loose-head prop, Woodlands School & Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire
Adam Peters, Lock, Pangbourne College & Buckinghamshire
Hugo Peterson, Flanker/No.8, Sedbergh School & Cumbria
Samuel Pointon, Scrum half, Rugby School & East Midlands
Damon Poole, Loose-head prop, Bromsgrove School & North Midlands
Tomas Rhodes, Prop, Flegg High School & Eastern Counties
George Rigby, Open-side flanker, Lord Wandsworth College & Berkshire
Morgan Robinson, Lock, Joseph Whitaker School & Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire
Simon Sexton, Scrum half, Wellington College & Surrey
Tom Smallbone, Loose-head prop, London Oratory School & Middlesex
Alex Smith, Centre, Colfe’s School & Kent
Tom Stephenson, Centre, Bloxham School & Buckinghamshire
Charlie Swarbrick, Scrum half, Ripley St Thomas High School & Lancashire
Jonathan Taylor, Fly half, Cheadle Hume School & Cheshire
Harry Thacker, Hooker, Leicester Grammar School & Leicester
Matt Thomas, Lock, Shiplake College & Oxfordshire
Oscar Thomas, Fly half, RGS High Wycombe & Buckinghamshire
James Thraves, Tight-head prop, Highfields School Derbyshire & Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire
Sebastian Tullie, Scrum half, Bradford Grammar School & Yorkshire
Tom Wallace, Centre, RGS High Wycombe & Buckinghamshire#
Anthony Watson, Full back, St George's College & Surrey
Marcus Webber, Full back, The Manchester Grammar School & Cheshire
Harry Wells, Lock, The King’s School Peterborough & Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire
Scott Wilson, Tight-head prop, Eyemouth High School & Northumberland
Alex Wootton, Wing, Sedbergh School & Cheshire

*Due to injury, Rory Anderson, No.8, Eton College & Surrey, has been added to the squad in place of Josh Francis