This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Watson and Forsyth win first England U20 caps

10 March 2010

  • Irish wing and Tigers' centre in to take on Scotland at Firhill 
  • Seven changes as England bid to bounce back from defeat
Joe Marler moves to tight head against Scotland

Photo: Getty Images

Leicester Tigers centre Andrew Forsyth and London Irish wing Marcus Watson will win their first England Under 20 caps against Scotland on Friday night.

Huddersfield-born Forsyth wears the No.13 shirt at Firhill in Glasgow in a side showing seven changes in personnel from the one beaten 25-10 by Ireland last month.

He has appeared for England's Under 16 and Under 18 teams, made his debut for the Tigers against Northampton Saints earlier this season and started in the famous 22-17 victory over South Africa at Welford Road last November.

His inclusion is one of five changes to the backline where Rory Clegg (Harlequins) comes in at fly half and Tom Catterick (Newcatle Falcons) at full back. There are changes on both wings with Sam Smith (Harlequins) returning and Watson, named in the Under 20 Elite Player Squad last August, is fit to make his debut.

Up front, Joe Marler (Harlequins) comes into the front row at tight head and two players on opposite sides in the Guinness Premiership at Welford Road last weekend are in the second and back rows.

Lock Calum Green (Leicester Tigers) returns after a two-match international absence with flanker Jamie Gibson (London Irish) making his first England appearance of the season in a reshuffled back row.

There are two uncapped players on the bench in prop Mako Vunipola (Bristol Rugby) and fly half Mark Atkinson (Sale Sharks).

England Under 20 Team to face Scotland
Player Club
15 Tom Catterick London Wasps
14 Marcus Watson London Irish
13 Andrew Forsyth Leicester Tigers 
12 Tom Casson Harlequins
11 Sam Smith Harlequins 
10 Rory Clegg  Harlequins
9 Sam Harrison Leicester Tigers
1 Lee Imiolek Sale Sharks
2 Jamie George Saracens
3 Joe Marler Harlequins 
4 Calum Green Leicester Tigers
5 Charlie Matthews Harlequins
Jamie Gibson  London Irish
7 Jacob Rowan (C) Leeds Carnegie
8 Jackson Wray Saracens
Player Club
16 Arthur Ellis London Wasps
17 Mako Vunipola Bristol Rugby
18 Danny Wright Gloucester Rugby
19 Will Welch Newcastle Falcons
20 Jordi Pasqualin Gloucester Rugby
21 Mark Atkinson Sale Sharks
22 Jonathan Joseph London Irish