This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Women's Euro Sevens squad announced

30 June 2010

  • England looking to defend their title in Russia
  • Experienced duo of Staniford and Green to lead England
Michaela Staniford runs with the ball for England women against Japan

Photo: RFU Archive

Barry Maddocks and Susie Appleby have named their England Women's Sevens squad as they hope to defend their European Sevens title in Russia next month.

England have named a strong outfit which includes five capped players, even though none of England’s 2010 XV's world cup players will be taking part in the Moscow tournament on July 10 and 11.

England will be led by co-captains Sonia Green and Michaela Staniford. Both of whom are experienced Sevens specialists with Wasps wing Staniford involved in last year's Rugby World Cup Sevens campaign in Dubai, which saw England win the Plate.

Head Coach Maddocks said: "We have got a nice blend of experience and up and coming players in this squad. Both Sonia and Michaela are proven Sevens players and they will lead the team well while the likes of Fran Matthews and Kim Oliver are England regulars.

"This will also be a great opportunity for the likes of Hannah Field and Rose Fong from the England Under 20s. Although this is our one and only Sevens tournament of the season we are determined to retain our title."

England will play Sweden, Italy and Germany in the pool stages on Saturday July 10. They will also play France on July 11 in the final pool match before the knock out stages commence that day.

England won the European Sevens title last season by beating Spain 20-12 in the final.

England Women Sevens squad
Player Club
Sonia Green Saracens
Gemma Sharples Worcester
Michaela Staniford London Wasps
Hannah Field London Wasps
Sarah Guest Worcester
Georgina Roberts Darlington Mowden Park Sharks
Jennifer Edwards Darlington Mowden Park Sharks
Francesca Matthews Richmond
Kimberly Oliver Bristol
Rose Fong Darlington Mowden Park Sharks