This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England to play three test 2012 series in South Africa

25 May 2010

  • England travel to South Africa for 2012 test series
  • First three match tour in England’s history

Delon Armitage of England takes a high ball under pressure from Adrian Jacobs of South Africa on November 22, 2008

Photo: Getty Images

England are scheduled to play a three test summer tour for the first time in their history when they visit South Africa in 2012.

The three encounters with the Springboks will start a new trend as tours with three test weekends will also take place in New Zealand in 2014, Australia in 2016 and again in South Africa in 2018. 

During the British & Irish Lions tours in 2013 and 2017 England will visit Argentina, while in Rugby World Cup years there will be no tours at all, which is consistent with all other Unions under the new IRB ten year schedule.

Back at home England will play four autumn test matches at Twickenham Stadium in 2012, 2014, 2016 and 2018, and three tests in 2013 and 2017.

RFU Elite Rugby Director Rob Andrew said the commitment to longer tours is an exciting development for all parts of the game.

He said: "This is an exciting and ground breaking schedule for all of the participating Unions and gives our broadcasters and commercial partners great clarity on the future.

"There are no midweek games scheduled for England’s summer tours as this will be determined by the respective host and the RFU in partnership with PRL and the RPA but like this summer it’s a concept we would be interested in discussing if all the relevant parties supported the idea."