This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Australia name summer squad as nemesis Wilkinson looks set to travel

27 May 2010

  • Australia head coach Robbie Deans names 30-man squad
  • Jonny Wilkinson likely to tour after rib injury scare

Australia head coach Robbie Deans

Photo: Getty Images

Australia head coach Robbie Deans has named his 30-man summer squad to face England in two Cook Cup matches on June 12 and June 19.

Former Australia captain Phil Waugh has been overlooked as Deans names seven uncapped players for their busy international schedule, which starts with a game against Fiji on June 5.

Reds trio Saia Faingaa, Ben Daley and Laurie Weeks, Brumbies pair Huia Edmonds and Salesi Ma'afu, plus Matt Hodgson and Rob Horne are all in line for a test debut in one of Australia's 10 Tests this season.

Injury means the Wallabies are without the likes of Will Genia, Wycliff Palu, Benn Robinson and James Horwill but Stephen Hoiles has received a recall along with Josh Valentine.

Experienced Waratahs prop Al Baxter was another surprise omission while Richard Kingi, Luke Morahan and Dave Dennis were all overlooked.

Wilkinson set to travel Down Under

England fly half Jonny Wilkinson in action against Australia at Twickenham in 2009

Photo: Getty Images

England fly half Jonny Wilkinson is set to travel for England’s five test tour to Australasia after a rib injury had put his place in doubt.

Wilkinson was injured in a collision during Toulon’s European Challenge Cup final defeat to Cardiff Blues and left the field in the 46th minute.

However, an x-ray by Toulon’s medical staff has revealed there is soft tissue damage but no break to his rib.

He will meet up with the England squad as scheduled on Saturday and continue his course of rehabilitation under the direction of the England medical staff.

Wilkinson is expected to travel with the rest of Martin Johnson’s Senior England EPS to Australia on Monday.

Australia Squad for Summer Tests

Forwards: B Alexander, R Brown, M Chisholm, P Cowan, B Daley, H Edmonds, R Elsom, S Faingaa, M Hodgson, S Hoiles, S Ma'afu, D Mumm, D Pocock, T Polota-Nau, N Sharpe, L Weeks.

Backs: A Ashley-Cooper, B Barnes, K Beale, L Burgess, Q Cooper, W Genia, M Giteau, R Horne, P Hynes, D Ioane, D Mitchell, J O'Connor, L Turner, J Valentine.