This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Rush named captain of strong Barbarians side

27 May 2010

  • Barbarians announce strong side with Rush as captain
  • England captain Nick Easter says Baa-Baas will present stern test

Cardiff Blues No.8 Xavier Rush will captain the Barbarians against England in the MasterCard Trophy match at Twickenham on Sunday

Photo: Getty Images

England captain Nick Easter says the Barbarians will provide a traditionally robust challenge after the invitational side announced their line-up for the MasterCard Trophy match on Sunday.

Xavier Rush has been named captain of the multi-national Barbarians' team, which faces England at Twickenham Stadium (5pm).

The Cardiff Blues No.8 leads a starting line-up featuring players from eight countries and is joined in the back-row by fellow All Black Rodney So'oialo and Cardiff Blues' club-mate Martyn Williams.

England also have a strong contingent with internationals London Wasps wing Paul Sackey and Leicester Tigers pair prop Julian White and lock Ben Kay.

Easter, who will captain the side from No.8, said: "The Barbarians will present a big challenge, bigger than in years gone by.

"The Barbarians committee have managed to put out some really strong and really competitive sides over the past few years.

"That’s the essence of the Barbarians – the type of rugby they play but also having the quality there.

"Sunday is a chance to get one back, we won one two years ago but lost the last one."

Tickets are available online or call 0844 8472492. Tickets for the MasterCard Trophy match (kick off 5pm) are priced from £25.00 for adults and £10 for under 16s and tickets are available now from

Barbarians Team to face the England
Player Club
15 Paul Warwick Munster
14 Paul Sackey  London Wasps 
13 Casey Laulala Cardiff Blues
12 Florian Fritz  Toulouse
11 Cedric Heymans Toulouse
10 Jean-Baptiste Ellisalde Toulouse
9 Byron Kelleher  Toulouse
1 Rodrigo Roncero Stade Francais
2 Benoit August  Biarritz
3 Julian White  Leicester Tigers
4 Ross Skeate Toulon
5 Ben Kay Leicester Tigers 
6 Rodney So'oialo  Hurricanes 
7 Martyn Williams Cardiff Blues
8 Xavier Rush (C) Cardiff Blues
Player Club
16 Ken Owens Scarlets
17 Census Johnson Toulouse
18 Jerome Thion  Biarritz
19 Geroge Smith Brumbies 
20 Pierre Mignoni Toulon
21 Fabrice Estebanez Brive
22 David Smith Hurricanes