This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Brett Pruce returns for England Deaf

03 November 2010

  • Brett Pruce returns from injury in time to face Old Northamptonians RFC on Sunday
  • England Deaf step up preparations for forthcoming international fixtures

England Deaf will welcome back experienced hooker Brett Pruce for their match against Northamptonshire Police at Old Northamptonians RFC on Sunday November 7 (12 noon).

Pruce, who plays for Leicester-based Aylestone St James, missed the victory over Essex Bishops last month because of injury, but he has recovered in timeto be named among the replacements for Sunday’s match.

Absentees include Fylde prop Peter Altham, Mat Gilbert (Llanelli), Craig Orrick (West Park St Helens) and Piet Everett of Sidcup.

England Deaf, who benefited from a training session with England Senior defence coach Mike Ford before beating Essex Bishops 101-5, are due to travel to play Wales on February 2.

They then host Scotland on March 12.

Players do not need to have a complete hearing loss to be eligible for the England Deaf Rugby Union (EDRU) or England Deaf Rugby Union for Women (EDRUW). To qualify, players only need a combined average hearing loss of 25 dB or more in both ears.

The EDRU can offer Deaf Awareness advice to clubs and schools, integrate Deaf and Hard of Hearing players into clubs, and liaise with club members to ensure the players are managed correctly.

England Deaf XV to face Northamptonshire Police at Old Northamptonians (Sunday November 7, 12 noon)

15. Richard Austin (Old Brentwoods)

14. Andrew Flook (Sheffield Oaks)

13. Guy Lavery (Cheeky Ladies London)

12. Simon Cottom (South Leicester)

11. Adam Faulkner (Wharfedale)

10. Mark Lewis (Brighton)

9. Lee Woollard (Sidcup)  

1. Nick Todd (Petersfield)

2. Rob Hill (Princes Risborough)

3. Len Fincham South Leicester)

4. Kris Mannering (Richmond)

5. Daniel McAllister (Luton)

6. Barney Reed (Shoreham)

7. Robert Turner  (Old Leamingtonians)

8. Ian Collins (Sevenoaks)


Josh Sprules (Bletchley)

Brett Pruce (Aylestone St James)

Adam Russell (Wheatley)

Tim Aldridge  (Twickenham)

Josh Corcoran (Hertford)


IBM TryTracker