This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO – Johnson makes four changes for Samoa

17 November 2010

  • No.8 Nick Easter captains England against Samoa
  • Flanker Hendre Fourie makes first start as Johnson makes four changes

Sorry, we cannot display this video/audio content as we are unable to detect the required Flash Player on your device. To access this content, download the Flash Player free from Download the Flash Player plugin

No.8 Nick Easter leads England for the first time in a full international against Samoa at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday (2.30pm).

The Harlequins back rower takes over from Bath Rugby’s Lewis Moody in a starting line-up showing four changes for the third Investec International.

Team manager Martin Johnson has opted for continuity after the record 35-18 win over Australia, with three changes in the scrum and one in the backline as England prepare to face a Samoan side beaten 20-10 by Ireland at the weekend.

Leeds Carnegie flanker Hendre Fourie makes his first start with James Haskell (Stade Francais) returning in the back row for Moody and Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers). In the front row Bath Rugby’s David Wilson plays at tight head with Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers) dropping to the bench.

Matt Banahan replaces Mike Tindall (Gloucester Rugby) at outside centre to win his sixth cap after five previous appearances on the wing, forming all Bath centre partnership with Shontayne Hape.

Croft is on the bench with David Attwood (Gloucester Rugby) back among the replacements in place of Simon Shaw (London Wasps).

You can buy tickets for England v Samoa now via, with adult prices starting from £35.

England Team to face Samoa
Player Club
15 Ben Foden Northampton Saints
14 Chris Ashton Northampton Saints
13 Matt Banahan  Bath Rugby
12 Shontayne Hape Bath Rugby
11 Mark Cueto Sale Sharks
10 Toby Flood Leicester Tigers
9 Ben Youngs Leicester Tigers
1 Andrew Sheridan Sale Sharks
2 Dylan Hartley Northampton Saints
David Wilson Bath Rugby 
4 Courtney Lawes Northampton Saints
5 Tom Palmer Stade Francais
James Haskell  Stade Francais
7 Hendre Fourie Leeds Carnegie 
8 Nick Easter (C) Harlequins
Player Club
16 Steve Thompson Leeds Carnegie
17 Dan Cole Leicester Tigers 
18 Dave Attwood Gloucester Rugby
19 Tom Croft Leicester Tigers
20 Danny Care Harlequins
21 Charlie Hodgson Sale Sharks
22 Delon Armitage London Irish