This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands Under 18 assessment squad named

08 December 2011

  • Midlands start build up to Divisional Festival
  • Selectors name 49-strong squad for Loughborough

The Midlands Under 18 selectors have named a 49-strong squad for an assessment day at Loughborough Grammar School on Sunday December 11.

The players were picked after an exhaustive selection process in which they were each graded each time they played in the recent programme of inter-county matches which culminated in the Super Sunday tournament at Broadstreet RFC near Coventry last weekend.

The assessment day is the first of two such sessions before Christmas and the squad will be reduced in size before the annual Divisional Festival at Broadstreet in February where players will be watched by the England Under 18 selectors.

The full squad for the Midlands Under 18s assessment day at Loughborough GS on December 11 is:

Full-backs: Jack Hobbs (Warwickshire), Jacob Knight (Warwickshire), Will Simmonds (East Midlands)

Wings: AaronMorris (East Midlands), Liam O’Neil (Warwickshire), Colin Dickson (North Midlands), Jake Roome (NLD), Julian Hensman (East Midlands), Charles Popp (Staffordshire).

Centres: Charles Jones (North Midlands), Laured Kalari (Staffordshire), Felix Streeton (East Midlands), Ben Davies (Warwickshire), Cameron McKenzie (Warwickshire), Nathan Holmes (Leicestershire), Max Stelling (North Midlands).

Fly-halves: Louis Grimoldby (East Midlands), George Humphries (East Midlands), Max Rodman (Warwickshire).

Scrum-halves: Sam Waltier (North Midlands), Sam Pointon (East Midlands), Alex Smit (East Midlands).

Loosehead props: Henri DaCosta (East Midlands), Jack Cosgrove (North Midlands), Thomas Handford (Leicestershire), Damon Poole (North Midlands), Ross Haggerty (Warwickshire), Jared Parkinson (NLD)

Hookers:  Will Bacon (NLD), Lewis Grinsell (North Midlands), Curtis Greene (Staffordshire).

Tighthead props:  George Beale (North Midlands), Matt Collins (East Midlands).

Locks: Kad Neilson (Warwickshire), Connor Mitchell (Leicestershire), Morgan Robinson (NLD), Matt Spink (Warwickshire), Haydn Edwins (East Midlands).

Blindside flankers: Thomas Roberts (NLD), Will Skingsley (East Midlands), Connor O’Leary (Leicestershire), Alex Hawthorne (Staffordshire), Matt Masters (North Midlands).

Openside flankers: Alex Duncette (Warwickshire), Max Halsall (NLD), George Seabrook (NLD), William Hopwood (Leicestershire).

No.8s: Ben Brownlie (East Midlands), Ed Taylor (North Midlands).