This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Ford and Farrell start for U20 against South Africa

17 June 2011

  • England U20 make nine changes for crunch South Africa game
  • We'll have to front up and play a disciplined game against them – Hunter
England Under 20 Head Coach Rob Hunter directs training at the Junior World Championship in Italy

Photo: Getty Images

England U20 Head Coach Rob Hunter has opted for an experienced midfield axis of George Ford at fly half and Owen Farrell and Elliott Daly at 12 and 13, respectively, for Saturday’s crunch IRB Junior World Championship Pool C clash against South Africa in Padova, kick off 7.10pm (UK time).

The game will be shown live on Sky Sports 4.

England have made nine changes from the starting XV that played Scotland with Ben Ransom (Saracens), Andy Short (Worcester Warriors), Chris Cook (Bath Rugby), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Mikey Haywood (Northampton Saints), Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks), Charlie Matthews (Harlequins) and captain Alex Gray (Newcastle Falcons) all returning to the starting line up.

Speaking ahead of the match, Hunter said: “We’re happy with what we need to improve on after the Scotland game, the lads have been working hard to get into the right frame of mind to face South Africa.

“We've seen that the pressure of getting out of your Pool is immense and the Springboks game will be a huge test for us. They’re a physical side, so we’ll have to make sure we front up and play a disciplined game against them.”

England U20 team to face South Africa
Player Club
15 Ben Ransom  Saracens
14 Andy Short Worcester Warriors
13 Elliot Daly London Wasps
12 Owen Farrell Saracens
11 Marland Yarde London Irish
10 George Ford Leicester Tigers
9 Chris Cook Bath Rugby
1 Mako Vunipola Saracens
2 Mikey Haywood Northampton Saints
3 Henry Thomas Sale Sharks
Joe Launchbury 
London Wasps
Charlie Matthews Harlequins
6 Sam Jones London Wasps
7 Matt Kvesic Worcester Warriors
8 Alex Gray (C) Newcastle Falcons
Player Club
16 Koree Britton Gloucester Rugby
17 Ryan Bower Leicester Tigers
18 Sam Twomey Harlequins
19 Matt Everard Leicester Tigers
20 Dan Robson Gloucester Rugby
21 Guy Armitage London Irish
22 Christian Wade London Wasps