This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

North Under 20 selectors look to Roses pair

25 March 2011

  • Champions Yorkshire have lion’s share of North U20 squad
  • Players aiming to make England Counties side for inaugural clash with Scotland

Defending National Under 20 Champions Yorkshire and Lancashire, runners-up in this season’s regional competition, dominate the initial selection for the North Under 20 squad of 26 players to prepare for their England trial game against the Midlands on a date still to be agreed.

The Roses pair contributed 16 of the squad that will train at Pontefract RUFC on Sunday (March 27) with nine White Rose players involved. The North training group will be cut to the final match squad of 22 after Sunday’s session.

The trial game against the Midlands is the next step on the path to selection for England’s newest representative team, the England Counties Under 20s, who will meet their Scottish counterparts on Friday, May 6, 2011 at West Park Leeds RUFC.

Player release has become an issue for the Midlands selectors, and the match, originally scheduled to be played on Saturday, April 2, will probably be delayed until Wednesday, April 13 and played under floodlights. This has yet to be confirmed.

North Under 20 squad

Sean Taylor (Lancashire/Preston Grasshoppers), Eddie Stobbart (Cheshire/Sedgley Park), Elliott Brierley (Cheshire/Macclesfield), Peter Homan (Yorkshire/Middlesbro’), Tom Bramwell(Northumberland/Tynedale), Tommy Banks (Lancashire/Westoe), Jamie Harrison (Lancashire/Broughton Park); Grant Connon (Cumbria/Carlisle), Sam Watkinson (Yorkshire/Ripon); Rory Bell (Cheshire/Stockport), Matt Mellish (Durham/Blaydon) William Dutton (Yorkshire/York), Mike Bradshaw (Yorkshire/Driffield), Tom Moody (Yorkshire/Morley), Ben Sowery (Yorkshire/Wharfedale), Matt Shields (Northumberland/Tynedale), Lewis McKay (Cheshire/Wilmslow), Josh Beaumont (Lancashire/Fylde), Callum Rowlandson (Cumbria/Whitehaven), Sam Brady (Yorkshire/Pontefract), John Wells (Lancashire/Fylde), Carl Kirwan (Yorkshire/Middlesborough), Sam Mullarkey) (Cheshire/Morley), Harrison Collins (Lancashire/Fylde), Ben Morris (Yorkshire/Westoe), Cameron Thompson (Lancashire/Fylde).