This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Women’s A team announced for Russia in Euro Trophy

03 May 2011

  • Nine changes for England Women's A for final European Trophy game
  • After two wins from two games England are eyeing the final
England Women's prop Roz Crowley, who will captain Women's A against Russia in the European Trophy

Photo: RFU Archive

England Women A have made nine changes for their final European Trophy pool game which sees England take on Russia on Wednesday, kick off 5pm BST, in Coruna, Spain.

Only Lichfield’s Stacy Maguire, Darlington Mowden Park’s Georgina Roberts and Bristol trio Isabelle Noel Smith, Amber Reed and Nicola Hoole start a second successive game. Lichfield’s Rosemarie Crowley returns in the front row to captain England A.

After a 5-0 win over Italy A and a 36-0 victory over the Netherlands A England are at the top of the table in Pool B while Spain lead the pack in Pool A.

England A Head Coach Mike Barnett said: "There were some good performances in the game against the Netherlands which made selection difficult and the team reflects a balance of managing fatigue and looking at some combinations.

"We are looking to continue to develop our team cohesion. Russia look to have a lot of pace with some of their top Sevens players here and they are dangerous out-wide. The aim for this match is to get our third win of the tournament and qualify for the European Trophy final in good shape."

England Women's A side to face Russia

15 George Roberts (Darlington Mowden Park)
14 Sophie Nicholas (Richmond)
13 Amber Reed (Bristol)
12 Ceri Large (Worcester)
11 Fran Matthews (Richmond)
10 Sarah McKenna (Old Albanians)
9 Georgina Rozario (Lichfield)

1 Clare Purdy (Wasps)
2 Ollie Poore (Wasps)
3 Rosemary Crowley (C) (Lichfield)
4 Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park)
5 Stacey Maguire (Lichfield)
6 Isabelle Noel Smith (Bristol)
7 Jane Leonard (Wasps)
8 Nicola Hoole (Bristol)


16 Victoria Fleetwood (Lichfield)
17 Monica Lewinska (Bristol)
18 Charlotte Male (Bristol)
19 Rowena Burnfield (Richmond)
20 Marlie Packer (Bristol)
21 Sarah Hunter (Lichfield)
22 Natasha Hunt (Lichfield)
23 Kim Oliver (Bristol)
24 Michaela Staniford (Wasps)
25 Kay Wilson (Richmond)
26 Natasha Jones (Worcester)

England A's European Trophy Fixtures

Saturday, April 30 – Italy v England, KO 3pm BST, WON 5-0
Monday, May 2 – Netherlands v England, KO 3pm, WON 36-0
Wednesday, May 4 – Russia v England, KO 4pm BST
Saturday, May 7 – Finals Day, KO TBC