This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Tomkins joins stellar Baa-Baas line-up

21 November 2011

  • Stellar names in line for Twickenham on Saturday 
  • Your chance to watch Cipriani, Tomkins and Habana
Danny Cipriani in action for Melbourne Rebels

Photo: Getty Images

With the likes of Danny Cipriani, Bryan Habana, Simon Shaw and Victor Matfield already confirmed for the Baa-Baas, this Saturday's game against southern hemisphere giants Australia promises to be a real winter warmer.

Rugby League man Sam Tomkins is the latest addition to the Barbarians' squad for the Killik Cup match and the impressive Wigan full-back will complete a unique double by playing against the pride of Australian rugby from both codes on successive weekends.

Last Saturday the 22-year-old featured for England against the Australian Kangaroos in the Four Nations' Final at Elland Road, Leeds; seven days later he dons the famous black-and-white shirt of the Barbarians against Australia's Wallabies in front of a 50,000-plus crowd at Twickenham.

Sam Tomkins in action for England Rugby League

Photo: Getty Images

Confirming the invitation, Barbarians' commercial director Mike Burton said: “We are delighted that Sam, with the support of the coaches and management at Wigan, has accepted this opportunity to play in such a high-profile union match. The Barbarian club has a tradition of thinking outside the circle when inviting players with league backgrounds, and usually to everyone's benefit.”

He added: “In recent years the likes of Mat Rogers, Lote Tuqiri, Wendell Sailor and, a few months ago, Willie Mason, have all made a mark when playing for us on the big stage. We are confident that Sam will be equal to the challenge this week.”

Barbarians squad

Sam Tomkins (England RL), Bryan Habana (South Africa), Isaia Toeava (New Zealand), Robbie Fruean (Crusaders), Stirling Mortlock (Australia), Richard Kahui (New Zealand), Seru Rabeni (Fiji),  Danny Cipriani (England), Peter Stringer (Ireland), Nemia Kenatale (Fiji), Keven Mealamu (New Zealand), Adriaan Strauss (South Africa), Salvatore Perugini (Italy), Sylvain Marconnet (France), Eusebio Guinazu (Argentina), Victor Matfield (South Africa), Simon Shaw (England), Marco Bortolami (Italy), Jason White (Scotland), Jerome Kaino (New Zealand), Adam Thomson (New Zealand), Mauro Bergamasco (Italy).


IBM TryTracker