This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Barbarians and Wallabies name teams for Twickenham

25 November 2011

  • David Pocock to captain Wallabies for the first time
  • Tickets can still be purchased tomorrow at the Twickenham ticket office from 11am
David Pocock

Photo: Getty Images

Tomorrow’s Barbarians v Australia match at Twickenham for the Killik Cup kicks off at 2:35pm, with Wallaby Will Genia, who has previously represented the Babaas warning: "It’s an amazing tradition that the Barbarians have. Make no mistake, this is going to be a tough match."

Springbok lock legend Victor Matfield is captaining the Barbarians and Western Force flanker David Pocock leading the Qantas Wallabies out for the first time.

The 34-year-old Matfield reprises his role of 2009 when he led the famous touring club to victory over New Zealand. Packing down alongside Matfield will be England lock Simon Shaw, 17 years after he was among an earlier Barbarian team that defeated South Africa.

There’s also an English flavour to the Baa Baas’ back line, with former London Wasps fly half Danny Cipriani starting at No.10 and England Rugby League star man Sam Tomkins on the wing. Coach Graham Henry has selected Bryan Habana on the other flank to Tomkins, while Peter Stringer partners Cipriani at half-back in a Barbarians combination featuring players from 10 different countries, with over a thousand test caps between them.

The 23-year-old Wallabies captain Pocock is a two-time nominee for the International Rugby Board’s Player of the Year. He led the Australian team at the Under-20 World Cup in Wales in 2008 and tomorrow’s appointment comes after Wallabies coach Robbie Deans opted to start regular skipper James Horwill from the bench, to lighten what has been a heavy work load for the 26 year old through the 2011 season.

The new skipper will be surrounded by the core of the side which beat Wales 21-18 in the Bronze Final at last month’s Rugby World Cup. One notable positional change sees 21-year-old James O’Connor start at fly half for the first time, after previously appearing on the wing or at fullback. O’Connor will play outside scrum half Will Genia, and inside NSW Waratahs playmaker Berrick Barnes, who starts at inside centre.

Barbarians and Australia teams

Barbarians: 15 Isaia Toeva 14 Sam Tomkins 13 Robbie Fruean 12 Stirling Mortlock 11 Bryan Habana 10 Danny Cipriani 9 Peter Stringer 1 Eusebio Guinazu 2 Keven Mealamu 3 Sylvain Marconnet 4 Simon Shaw 5 Victor Matfield (captain) 6 Jerome Kaino 7 Mauro Bergamasco 8 Adam Thomson

Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss 17 Salvatore Perugini 18 Jason White 19 Marco Bortolami 20 Nemia Kenatale 21 Richard Kahui 22 Seru Rabeni

Australia: 15. Adam Ashley-Cooper 14. Lachie Turner 13. Rob Horne 12. Berrick Barnes 11. Digby Ioane 10. James O’Connor 9. Will Genia 8. Dave Dennis 7. David Pocock 6. Scott Higginbotham 5. Nathan Sharpe 4. Rob Simmons 3. Salesi Ma’afu 2. Tatafu Polota Nau 1. James Slipper

Replacements: 16. Stephen Moore 17. Ben Alexander 18. James Horwill 19. Radike Samo 20. Matt Hodgson 21. Nick Phipps 22. Ben Tapuai

Tickets are still available in all price brackets, starting at £35 adults and £15 juniors. Please purchase them from the Twickenham Stadium box office from 11am tomorrow.