This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Armitage starts against Scotland in Pool B decider

28 September 2011

  • Delon Armitage starts on left wing as one of three England changes
  • Courtney Lawes and Matt Stevens also restored to starting line up
Delon Armitage celebrates scoring a try

Photo: Getty Images

Delon Armitage will start on the left wing for England as one of three changes for the Pool B decider against Scotland at Eden Park on Saturday.

The London Irish back three player, who has scored two tries in his last four games, replaces Sale Sharks wing Mark Cueto, who drops out of the match day 22.

Team Manager Martin Johnson’s other two changes see Northampton Saints lock Courtney Lawes restored to the second row after a two-game ban and Saracens prop Matt Stevens return at loosehead.

They replace Stade Francais lock Tom Palmer and London Irish prop Alex Corbisiero, who take places on the bench.

Chris Ashton, who tops the Rugby World Cup 2011 try-scoring charts with five, is one of five players starting their fourth game of the tournament, alongside Northampton Saints team mate Ben Foden, Leicester Tigers pair Manu Tuilagi and Dan Cole and Ricoh Black Rams No.8 James Haskell.

Bath Rugby flanker Lewis Moody again captains the side on the occasion of his 70th cap and fly half Jonny Wilkinson will make his 90th Test appearance for England.

Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby) and Nick Easter (Harlequins) return to the match day squad on the bench.

England Team to face Scotland
Player Club
15 Ben Foden Northampton Saints
14 Chris Ashton Northampton Saints
13 Manu Tuilagi Leicester Tigers
12 Mike Tindall Gloucester Rugby
11 Delon Armitage London Irish
10 Jonny Wilkinson RC Toulon
9 Ben Youngs Leicester Tigers
1 Matt Stevens Saracens
2 Steve Thompson London Wasps
3 Dan Cole Leicester Tigers
4 Louis Deacon Leicester Tigers
5 Courtney Lawes Northampton Saints
6 Tom Croft Leicester Tigers
7 Lewis Moody Bath Rugby
8 James Haskell Ricoh Black Rams
Player Club
16 Dylan Hartley Northampton Saints
17 Alex Corbisiero London Irish
18 Tom Palmer Stade Francais
19 Nick Easter Harlequins
20 Richard Wigglesworth Saracens
21 Toby Flood Leicester Tigers
22 Matt Banahan Bath Rugby