This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 18 name side for Wales game

02 April 2012

  • England Under 18 make eight changes for Wales
  • It will be a really tough contest – Fletcher
England U18 sing the national anthem

Photo: RFU Archive

England Under 18 have named their side to take on Wales in tomorrow’s FIRA tournament semi-final in Madrid, kick off 2.30pm (UK time).

Head Coach John Fletcher has made eight changes to the side that beat Georgia 58-8 with Hartpury College players Josh Buggea, Ross Moriarty, Callum Braley and Billy Burns among those coming into the side.

Ireland and France contest the other semi, with the final set to be played next Saturday, but Fletcher isn’t looking that far ahead just yet.

England Under 18 Callum Braley carries the ball during training

Photo: RFU Archive

“We’re just really looking forward to the game tomorrow, we’ve reviewed Georgia and there are areas to improve on – but we’re just looking to get better each game we play," he said.

“It will be a really tough contest against the Welsh, they’ve played well in their three games this season and we know it’s going to be a good match. But our players are very much looking forward to it and can’t wait to get out there.”

England Under 18 starting XV

15 Zach Kibirige (Yarm School) (Newcastle Falcons)
14 Josh Watkins (Bromsgrove School) (Worcester Warriors)
13 Tom Stephenson (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
12 Javiah Pohe (Wyggeston  & Queen Elizabeth 1st) (Leicester Tigers)
11 Nathan Earle (Oaklands) (Saracens)
10 Billy Burns (Hartpury College) (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Callum Braley (Hartpury College) (Bristol Rugby)

1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
2 Harry Thacker (Leicester Grammar) (Leicester Tigers)
3 Scott Wilson (Sedbergh School) (Newcastle Falcons)
4 Maro Itoje (Harrow School) (Saracens)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bryanston School) (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Hartpury College) (Gloucester)
7 Gus Jones (C) (Eton College) (London Wasps)
8 Josh Buggea (Hartpury College) (Worcester Warriors)


16 Reece Marshall (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
17 Harry Rudkin (Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth 1st) (Leicester Tigers)
18 Alex Lundberg (Hampton) (London Wasps)
19 Jake Oldaker (Wellington College) (Bath Rugby)
20 Joel Conlon (Ivybridge Community College) (Exeter Chiefs)
21 Tom Chapman (Colfe’s School) (Saracens)
22 Sam Olver (Oundle School) (Northampton Saints)
23 George Catchpole (Leicester Grammar) (Leicester Tigers)
24 Nick Carpenter (Filton College) (Bristol Rugby)
25 Max Northcote-Green (Millfield) (Bath Rugby)
26 Howard Packman (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)