This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands Under 20s name Welbeck squad

05 April 2012

  • London & SE first up at National Development Weekend
  • Jon Phillips takes charge of Midlands

Midlands Under 20s have named their final squad for the National Development Weekend which will be played at Welbeck College near Loughborough from April 6 to 8.

The Midlands will play London & SE on Friday April 6 at 2.30pm and either the North or  South West on April 8 dependent upon results on the opening day of the festival.

The festival will form the final part of the selection process for the England Counties Under 20 side who will play Scotland Under 20s at St Andrews University on May 4.  

The Midlands will be coached for the first time by Jon Phillips, the former Northampton Saints and Bedford Blues lock who now plays for National Two South leaders Old Albanians.

Midlands Under 20s squad

Backs: Jim Wigglesworth (Hull and NLD), De La Rey Veenendaal (Cambridge and East Midlands), Matthew Fisher (South Leicester and Leicestershire), Huw Morgan (Chinnor and East Midlands), Caolan Ryan (Bromsgrove and North Midlands), Heath Stevens (Coventry and East Midlands), Devon Constant (Aylestone St James and Leicestershire), James Stokes (Leicester Lions and NLD), Ross Kevan (Old Northamptonians and East Midlands), Adam Nixon (Nuneaton and Staffordshire).

Forwards: Gino Belmonte (Bromsgrove and North Midlands), Joe Newton-Taylor (Leek and Staffordshire), Jordon Goddard (Loughborough and Leicestershire), Nathan Taylor (Burton and Staffordshire),  Ewan Bartlett (Loughborough and Leicestershire), George Richardson (Syston and Leicestershire), Will Ward (Melton Mowbray and Leicestershire), Dan Brotherton (Coventry and East Midlands), Jeremy Darley (Harper Adams University and North Midlands), Andrew Ince (Bedford Athletic and East Midlands), Tom Morris (Hinckley and Leicestershire), George Messum (Loughborough Students and East Midlands), Sam Heygate (Loughborough Students and East Midlands).