This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 18 name side for FIRA final

06 April 2012

  • England Under 18 name side for Ireland clash
  • Catchpole, Conlon and Rudkin all come in

England Under 18 line up

Photo: Raul Garcia

England Under 18 have named their side to face Ireland in Saturday’s FIRA tournament final, kick off 3.45 (BST), live on

Coaches John Fletcher and Pete Walton have made three changes from the side that beat Wales 22-16 with George Catchpole, Harry Rudkin and Joel Conlon all coming in.

The final is a repeat of last year’s, won 17-8 by Ireland in France, but Fletcher says that the 2011 competition will have no bearing on this year’s result.

“We’ve got a new group this year who have all worked extremely hard to get to where they are,” he said. “It’s quite nice to play Ireland because we haven’t faced them this season and it’s good for the guys to have the complete experience.

Callum Braley looks for the pass

Photo: Raul Garcia

“It’s going to be a tough, tough game but we’re delighted to be here. We know that we’re going to have to play better than we did against Wales to win the competition – but we’re a side who pride ourselves on performance.” 

Captain Gus Jones added: “We’re extremely proud to be in the final – we know that Ireland are a very good side, but we’re confident in ourselves and I’m sure it will be a good game.

“This squad has been on a great journey, we’ve won four from four and the morale and camaraderie is second to none.  We’ll leave nothing in the changing room come kick off time tomorrow.”

England Under 18 starting XV

15 Zach Kibirige (Yarm School) (Newcastle Falcons)
14 George Catchpole (Leicester Grammar) (Leicester Tigers)
13 Javiah Pohe (Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth 1st) (Leicester Tigers)
12 Tom Stephenson (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
11 Joshua Watkins (Bromsgrove School) (Worcester Warriors)
10 Billy Burns (Hartpury College) (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Callum Braley (Hartpury College) (Bristol Rugby)

1 Harry Rudkin (Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth 1st) (Leicester Tigers)
2 Harry Thacker (Leicester Grammar) (Leicester Tigers)
3 Scott Wilson (Sedbergh School) (Newcastle Falcons)
4 Maro Itoje (Harrow School) (Saracens)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bryanston School) (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Hartpury College) (Gloucester Rugby)
7 Gus Jones (c) (Eton College) (London Wasps)
8 Joel Conlon (Ivybridge Community College) (Exeter Chiefs)


16 Reece Marshall (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
17 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
18 Alex Lundberg (Hampton) (London Wasps)
19 Jake Oldaker (Wellington College) (Bath Rugby)
20 Josh Buggea (Hartpury College) (Worcester Warriors)
21 Tom Chapman (Colfe School) (Saracens)
22 Sam Olver (Oundle Schhol) (Northampton Saints)
23 Nick Carpenter (Filton College) (Bristol Rugby)
24 Nathan Earle (Oaklands) (Saracens)
25 Max Northcote-Green (Millfield) (Bath Rugby)
26 Howard Packman (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)