This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 18 name side to face South Africa

17 August 2012

  • England Under 18 side to play South Africa
  • We’ve prepared well – John Fletcher

England Under 18 line up

Photo: Getty Images

England Under 18 have named their side to take on South African Schoolboys in Cape Town on Saturday, kick off 11.45am (BST) at the University of Western Cape.

Head Coach John Fletcher has made nine changes from the side that lost 20-13 to France and has brought in flanker and captain Gus Jones, fresh after receiving three A* grades in his A-Levels.

The game is the first time England Under 18 have played South Africa since 2010, when a side that included recent Under 20 graduates Elliot Daly, Billy Vunipola and Dan Robson narrowly lost 23-17 in Port Elizabeth.

Ahead of the final tour match, Fletcher said: “We know what to expect from South Africa. They’re a big strong side and they’ll give it everything they’ve got. It doesn’t make it any easier knowing their style of play but we’ve prepared well. We’ve had a couple of tough games and we’re looking forward to this one.

“One thing about this England side is that they will not stop trying until the final whistle has blown. They’re a tight-knit group and while it would of course be great to end on a win, the aim is to play as well as we possibly can, and often if you do that the result looks after itself.”

England Under 18 starting XV against South Africa

15 Howard Packman (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
14 Nathan Earle (Oaklands) (Saracens)
13 Tom Stephenson (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
12 Nick Carpenter (Filton College) (Bristol Rugby)
11 Josh Watkins (Bromsgrove School) (Worcester Warriors)
10 Billy Burns (Hartpury College) (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Callum Braley (Hartpury College) (Bristol Rugby)

1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
2 Harry Thacker (Leicester Grammar) (Leicester Tigers)
3 Biyi Alo (Haileybury College) (Saracens)
4 Maro Itoje (Harrow School) (Saracens)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bryanston School) (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Hartpury College) (Gloucester)
7 Gus Jones (Eton College) (London Wasps) (c)
8 Joel Conlon (Ivybridge Community College) (Exeter Chiefs)


16 Alex Lundberg (Hampton) (London Wasps)
18 Zach Kibirige (Yarm School) (Newcastle Falcons)
19 Sam James (Bishops Stortford) (Saracens)
20 Jake Oldaker (Wellington College) (Bath Rugby)
23 Sam Olver (Oundle School) (Northampton Saints)
24 Ollie Claxton (Adams Grammar School) (Unattached)
25 Nick Tompkins (Oaklands College) (Saracens)
26 Stephen Uren (Filton College) (Bristol Rugby)