This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England v Scotland: The vital stats

03 February 2012

  • All the facts and stats on England vs Scotland
  • Get up to speed on where to watch, when to watch and who you'll be watching  
Ben Youngs is tackled by Richie Gray during England's match against Scotland at the 2011 Rugby World Cup

Photo: Getty Images

Though the Calcutta Cup is always ferociously contested, tomorrow’s clash at Murrayfield promises to be an especially hostile affair. After an autumn that saw England hand their Auld Enemy an ignominious exit from the Rugby World Cup at the group stage, Scotland will be desperate to wreak revenge on their closest, and most bitter, rivals at the earliest possible opportunity.

With three debutants in the starting line-up, a new captain in Chris Robshaw and Stuart Lancaster taking the reins as interim head coach, England have a fresh complexion as they look to build towards 2015. Andy Robinson’s Scotland, sure to be roared on by a partisan Edinburgh crowd, will sense vulnerability. Here are the vital stats and facts ahead of an intriguing start to the RBS 6 Nations...

When? Saturday, February 4

Where? Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh, Scotland.

Kick Off? 5pm

How to keep up with the action

  • Live on BBC One from 4.30pm
  • Listen live on BBC Five live 
  • Live text commentary on the free RFU iPhone app (search iTunes for Official RFU)
  • Live score updates from Official_RFU on Twitter
  • Match report, post match interviews and highlights on

The teams


15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints); 14 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints), 13 Brad Barritt (Saracens), 12 Owen Farrell (Saracens), 11 David Strettle (Saracens); 10 Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), 9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers); 1 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), 2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), 3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers); 4 Mouritz Botha (Saracens), 5 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais); 6 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers), 7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain), 8 Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints).

Replacements:Rob Webber (London Wasps), 17 Matt Stevens (Saracens), 18 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), 19 Ben Morgan (Llanelli Scarlets), 20 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints), 21 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins), 22 Mike Brown (Harlequins).


15 Rory Lamont (Glasgow Warriors); 14 Lee Jones (Edinburgh), 13 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), 12 Sean Lamont (Scarlets), 11 Max Evans (Castres); 10 Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), 9 Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors); 1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), 2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh, captain), 3 Euan Murray (Newcastle), 4 Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), 5 Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), 6 Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), 7 Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), 8 David Denton (Edinburgh)

Replacements: 16 Scott Lawson (Gloucester), 17 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), 18 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), 19 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), 20 Mike Blair (Edinburgh), 21 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), 22 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors).

Scotland coach Andy Robinson after the Rugby World Cup defeat to England in Auckland 

Photo: Getty Images

Head to head

  • Played 129, England won 69, Scotland won 42, drawn 18
  • Highest scores – England 43-3 in 2001 and 43-22 in 2005; Scotland 33-6 in 1986
  • Biggest wins – England 43-3 in 2001; Scotland 33-6 in 1986

Previous ten meetings

  • 2011 (RWC) England 16-12 Scotland
  • 2011 England 22-16 Scotland
  • 2010 Scotland 15-15 England
  • 2009 England 26-12 Scotland
  • 2008 Scotland 15-9 England
  • 2007 England 42-20 Scotland
  • 2006 Scotland 18-12 England
  • 2005 England 43-22 Scotland
  • 2004 Scotland 13-35 England
  • 2003 England 40-9 Scotland
  • 2002 Scotland 3-29 England

England key facts

  • World ranking: 5
  • Most capped player: Jason Leonard (114 caps between 1990 and 2004)
  • Most consecutive Test wins: 14 (2002 to 2003)

Scotland key facts

  • World ranking: 10
  • Most capped player: Chris Paterson (109 caps between 1999 and 2011)
  • Most consecutive Test wins: 6 (1925 to 1926 and 1989 to 1990)

Did you know?

  • There are less than half amount of Test caps (236) across England’s starting XV than there are in Scotland’s (501)
  • England have not won at Murrayfield since 2004, when tries from Ben Cohen, Josh Lewsey, Danny Grewcock and Iain Blashaw secured a 35-13 victory.
  • That year, Scotland won the wooden spoon, losing all five of their fixtures, while England could only finish third after defeats to Ireland and France.
  • David Strettle was last named in the starting line-up for an international in June 2008, when England lost 37-20 to New Zealand.
  • Scotland captain Ross Ford started all four of his country’s matches at the Rugby World Cup and made 28 tackles over the course of the tournament.