This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Welsh and Knights ring in the changes ahead of Wednesday's Championship clash

21 February 2012

  • Twice postponed match to go ahead on Wednesday
  • I don’t believe in picking a weaker team – Davey
London Welsh's Ed Jackson

Photo: RFU archive

It’s third time lucky for London Welsh and Doncaster Knights as the two sides meet at Old Deer Park on Wednesday for their postponed mid-week Championship clash.

Knights boss Brett Davey has named his strongest possible squad, while Lyn Jones rings the changes after Welsh’s victory at the weekend against local rivals London Scottish.

Knights have made five changes from their game against Rotherham, with Toby Berridge handed his debut and Micheal Hearney given his first league start.

Meanwhile, Welsh make nine changes to the team that beat local rivals London Scottish, with Nick Scott, James Lewis and Guy Armitage coming in to the starting XV.

It’s a mini World Cup from here in – Davey

In the reverse fixture earlier this season, Welsh ran out 21-10 winners to extend their winning run over Doncaster to six games.

But talking about his selection, Doncaster boss Davey said: “I don’t believe in picking a weaker team, we play every game to win and the two games this week will be no exception.

“This week will keep them on their toes and each player will get their chance to impress and keep a spot in the first team when the play-offs kick in.

“It’s a mini World Cup from here in and these games could give us a momentum in the knockout stage. But more than anything it relieves us of any pressure and will help us play the brand of rugby we are aiming for.”

Doncaster’s last victory against Welsh was in at Old Deer Park in October 2009, when they won 20-9.

London Welsh

15 Seb Jewell, 14 Will Hurrell, 13 Hudson Tonga’uiha, 12 Simon Whatling, 11 Joe Ajuwa, 10 Gordon Ross (capt), 9 Jack Moates; 1 Shawn Pittman, 2 Vili Ma’asi, 3 Billy Moss, 4 Adam Brown, 5 Martin Purdy, 6 Lee Beach, 7 Michael Hills, 8 Ben Russell

Replacements: 16 Saul Nelson, 17 Greg Bateman, 18 Mike Powell, 19 Matt Corker, 20 Rob Lewis, 21 Alex Davies, 22 James Lewis
Doncaster Knights

15 Toby Berridge, 14 Dougie Flockhart, 13 Oli Goss, 12 Fred Burdon, 11 Michael Keating, 10 Gareth Quinn-McDonogh, 9 Michael Heaney; 1 Tom Davies, 2 Steve Boden, 3 Alex Brown, 4 Glen Kenworthy, 5 Dominic Parsons, 6 Latu Makaafi, 7 David Bradford, 8 Michael Noone

Replacements: 16 Royce Burke-Flynn, 17 Jack Yeandle, 18 Stuart Corsar, 19 Matt Challinor, 20 Zack Farivarz, 21 Chris Hallam, 22 Ben Toft


IBM TryTracker