This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Oxfordshire coach honoured at prestigious awards ceremony

06 January 2012

  • Oxfordshire’s Lynn Evans wins RFU Lifetime Achievement Award
  • RFU Coaching Awards recognise coaching achievements across the country

A leading Oxfordshire rugby coach has been honoured this week at the annual Rugby Football Union Coaching Awards which took place at the National Coaching Conference at Heythrop Park in the county.

The RFU Coaching Awards provides an opportunity to recognise coaching achievements and value the role that coaching makes to the sport of rugby, and Lynn Evans, who has a coaching career spanning nearly 50 years, deservedly scooped the honour of receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award for Coaching Excellence.

As well as coaching Oxford University, Evans has been involved with the Oxfordshire county side, Chinnor RFC and Littlemore RFC, the latter a club which he actually founded. He was also a former Rugby Development Officer for the RFU and he has coached in Canada, USA, France, Germany, Japan, Italy and Malaysia. He is currently a coaching advisor and mentor to the RFU and also looks after Oxford University’s Under 21 side.

John Peel, Chair of the Oxfordshire CB coaching sub-committee, said: "Lynn Evans is an inspirational coach and teacher. His knowledge and enthusiasm, love for the game and commitment to the development of children through sport has been staggering. He has inspired countless young people to play the sport all over the world.

"Moreover, he has inspired several generations of coaches to work towards using sport, and rugby in particular, as a medium through which to develop the life skills of young people: their competence, confidence, connectedness, character and creativity."

Other awards that were up for grabs at the RFU Coaching Awards included The Ian Thompson Young People’s Coach of the Year, Adult Coach of the Year, Coach Educator of the Year and Club Coaching Coordinator of the Year.