This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands Under 18 selectors to name Divisional Festival squad

26 January 2012

  • Squad to be trimmed after Sunday session
  • Midlands step up preparations for Broadstreet

The Midlands Under 18 selectors will name a revised squad for next month’s Divisional Festival at Broadstreet RFC near Coventry after a training session at Bedford Modern School on Sunday January 29.

The Midlands drew 19-19 with Bedford Blues Academy Under 19s at Goldington Road last Sunday but the selectors decided to delay naming a trimmed down squad after three players, hooker Lewis Grinsell (Hartpury College and North Midlands), No.8 Ed Taylor (Old Swinford Hospital School and North Midlands) and prop George Beale (Bromsgrove School and North Midlands) were selected to play for an England Under 18s development side in their defeat by Wales at Newport on Tuesday.

In addition, wing Colin Dickson (Ellesmere College and North Midlands) has been called into the England Under 18 squad for their match against Leicester Academy at Welford Road on January 29.

The revised Midlands Under 18 squad will play Northampton Saints Academy at Broadstreet on February 5 (1pm) before returning to Bedford Modern School for a final training session ahead of the Divisional Festival where they will play London & SE on February 17 (2pm) and the North on February 19 (11am).

Midlands Under 18 squad:

Full-backs: Jack Hobbs (Warwickshire), Jacob Knight (Warwickshire), Will Simmonds (East Midlands)

Wings: Aaron Morris (East Midlands), Liam O’Neil (Warwickshire), Colin Dickson (North Midlands), Julian Hensman (East Midlands).

Centres: Charles Jones (North Midlands), Felix Streeton (East Midlands), Max Stelling (North Midlands).

Fly-halves: Louis Grimoldby (East Midlands), George Humphries (East Midlands), Max Rodman (Warwickshire).

Scrum-halves: Sam Waltier (North Midlands), Sam Pointon (East Midlands), Alex Smit (East Midlands).

Loosehead props: Henri DaCosta (East Midlands), Jack Cosgrove (North Midlands), Thomas Handford (Leicestershire), Damon Poole (North Midlands), Jared Parkinson (NLD)

Hookers: Lewis Grinsell (North Midlands), Curtis Greene (Staffordshire).

Tighthead props: George Beale (North Midlands), Matt Collins (East Midlands).

Locks: Morgan Robinson (NLD), Matt Spink (Warwickshire), Haydn Edwins (East Midlands).

Blindside flankers: Thomas Roberts (NLD), Will Skingsley (East Midlands), Matt Masters (North Midlands).

Openside flankers: George Seabrook (NLD).

No.8s: Ben Brownlie (East Midlands), Ed Taylor (North Midlands), Dan Young (North Midlands).