This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Robshaw tops stellar campaign with Hall Of Fame induction

23 July 2012

  • Chris Robshaw honoured with inclusion in first English Rugby Hall of Fame
  • Martin Johnson, Warren Gatland and Pat Lam among other first 23 inductees
England and Harlequins captain Chris Robshaw

Photo: Getty Images

England captain Chris Robshaw has capped an outstanding season for club and country by being one of the first inductees in the new English Rugby Hall of Fame.

The list of 28 players, coaches and directors of rugby has been compiled by Premiership Rugby, the umbrella organisation of the 12 Aviva Premiership Clubs, in recognition of their contribution to the game.

Harlequins skipper Robshaw, who was appointed captain of England by Stuart Lancaster ahead of the 2012 RBS 6 Nations, lead with distinction as the side won three away games for the first time in their history and finished second in the Championship.

After then leading Harlequins to the Premiership title with victory over Leicester Tigers at Twickenham Stadium, the 26-year-old excelled in two narrow Test defeats in South Africa this summer.

Before a broken bone in his thumb ruled him out of the final Test in Port Elizabeth, Robshaw racked up outstanding stats of executing 21 tackles, hitting 31 rucks and pilfering four turnovers in the 22-17 first Test defeat in at Kings Park.

Among the other first Hall of Famers are former England and British & Irish Lions captain and 2003 Rugby World Cup winner Martin Johnson, former Newcastle and Northampton back row Pat Lam and Wales Grand Slam winning coach Warren Gatland.

They will be inducted at a charity ball at the Hurlingham Club on 3 October, with all profits for the event being donated to Sport Relief.

The ball will also celebrate the first 15 years of Premiership rugby, which kicked off in the 1997-98 season.

"A Hall of Fame to honour the best players and coaches in English club rugby is long overdue," said Premiership Rugby chief executive Mark McCafferty.

"We will induct the winners of the Premiership Rugby Director of the Year and Premiership Rugby Player of the Year awards since 1997-98. It is an impressive list."