This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

South Africa name 32-man squad to face England

03 June 2012

  • Nine uncapped players named by South Africa to face England
  • Heinrich Brussouw and Fourie de Preez not in Heyneke Meyer’s 32-man squad
South Africa's star wing Bryan Habana dives over for a try against Samoa at Rugby World Cup 2011

Photo: Getty Images

Nine uncapped players have been included in the Springbok squad of 32 for the three-Test series against England.

South Africa coach coach Heyneke Meyer named flankers Marcell Coetzee and Jacques Potgieter, locks Eben Etzebeth, Juandré Kruger and Franco van der Merwe, fly half Elton Jantjies, wing or centre JJ Engelbrecht, prop Coenie Oosthuizen and scrum half Jano Vermaak.

Jantjies and Oosthuizen toured with the Springboks at the end of the 2010 season and in the 2011Tri-Nations, while Van der Merwe and Vermaak have previously played for the Emerging Springboks.

There is no place for Stormers centre Juan de Jongh, Cheetahs flanker Heinrich Brussouw or 2007 Rugby World Cup winning scrum half Fourie de Preez.

Ulster scrum half Ruan Pienaar, who played in the 2012 Heineken Cup final and Frans Steyn are the only overseas-based players.

Ulster scrum half Ruan Pienaar, who has been called into the South Africa squad to face England this June

Photo: Getty Images

Meyer and the national selectors, Peter Jooste and Ian McIntos, have also recalled 15 members of the Rugby World Cup 2011 squad, while nine Rugby World Cup winners from 2007 remain in the squad.

The most experienced player in the squad is South Africa's foremost Test try scorer Bryan Habana, with 74 caps. Six more players have played in excess of 40 Tests for South Africa.

"We were always looking to start the season with an experienced squad to face England, but injuries to certain players and the non-availability of others have made it difficult," said former Leicester Tigers Head Coach Meyer.

"What we've lost in experience, we've made up in passion and desire to play for the Springboks.

"We have put together a squad with a nice balance between a number of veterans and players with less experience as we start to build for the rest of the season.

"Working with these players during our four Planning Camps this season has been great and really made a very difficult selection process a bit easier. There were a few unlucky players that didn't make it and they will get opportunities in future as long as they keep on knocking on the door.

"The nine uncapped players have all put up their hands during Vodacom Super Rugby this year and we know they have what it takes to succeed at the highest level.

"We realise that it is impossible to please everyone when it comes to selecting squads like these, but we would really like to see the entire country stand behind us as we take on England."

South Africa squad


Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Ryan Kankowski, Juandré Kruger, Werner Kruger, Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Jacques Potgieter, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Franco van der Merwe.


Bjorn Basson, Jean de Villiers, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie , Lwazi Mvovo, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Jano Vermaak.