This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 20 team to face Australia

21 June 2012

  • England Under 20 name side to play Australia
  • We're going to need to play at our peak – Heathcote
England Under 20 team announcement

Photo: Getty Images

England Under 20 have named their side to face Australia in the IRB Junior World Championship tomorrow at the University of Western Cape, kick off 15:30 (BST).

A win would give England a seventh place finish in the competition, but returning fly half Tom Heathcote is taking nothing for granted.

He said: “We’re looking forward to going out there and making a statement. The boys have been pretty disappointed after our last two performances [a 28-15 loss to South Africa and a 27-12 loss to Ireland] but we’ve got one game to put things right, end on a high, and everyone is massively excited by that chance.

“We’ve done some analysis on Australia and they’re a good side. They have some good athletes and strong backs and we know that if we’re going to win we’re going to have to play to our peak.“

England Under 20 starting XV against Australia

15 Ben Ransom (Saracens)
14 Marland Yarde (London Irish)
13 Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs)
12 Ryan Mills (Gloucester Rugby)
11 Charlie Walker (Harlequins)
10 Tom Heathcote (Bath Rugby)
9 Dan Robson (Gloucester Rugby)

1 Alec Hepburn (London Wasps)
2 Koree Britton (Gloucester Rugby)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
4 Dominic Barrow (Leeds Carnegie)
5 George Merrick (Harlequins)
6 David Sisi (London Irish)
7 Chris Walker (Leeds Carnegie) (C)
8 Jack Clifford (Harlequins)


16 Nathan Morris (London Wasps)
17 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
18 Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)
19 Ben Nutley (Northampton)
20 Billy Vunipola (London Wasps)
21 Ben Spencer (Saracens)
22 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
23 Tommy Bell (London Wasps)