This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Lincolnshire trio get RFU Club Accreditation award

26 June 2012

  • Ian Ritchie presents awards
  • Stamford, Cleethorpes and Grimsby recognised by RFU

Ian Ritchie presents Stamford RFC with their RFU Accreditation award

Photo: RFU Archive

Three Lincolnshire clubs have been awarded the prestigious new Rugby Football Union Club Accreditation.

Stamford, Cleethorpes and Grimsby are among the first clubs in Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire to achieve the award which recognised a club’s commitment to growing and developing the game locally and striving for sustainability.

All three were presented with their award by Ian Ritchie, chief executive of the Rugby Football Union, during a recent visit.

Stamford chairman Steve Fowkes and coaching co-ordinator Derek Smith, Cleethorpes chair of Mini and Youth rugby Andy wood and coaching co-ordinator Dave Searle and Grimsby secretary Glen Norman and president-elect Jane Kirton-Smith were present at the awards ceremony at Kesteven RFC.

The RFU Accreditation recognises the effort and achievement of volunteers in reaching the standard required in the development of rugby across the whole club, and to plan for the long term sustainability of the club and rugby union.

Clubs are assessed by the RFU and must demonstrate evidence of good practice in areas such as club management, player development and recruitment, child protection, sports equity, coaching, refereeing and volunteering.

The Rugby Football Union Club Accreditation scheme aims to help all rugby clubs in England become stronger, more effective, more efficient and more enjoyable places to play rugby.

Accreditation earns advantages like the Sport England Clubmark recognising the excellence of the club’s mini and youth section together with increased status and credibility with local authorities, educational establishments and potential sponsors.


IBM TryTracker