This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Ryan Mills in at fly half for England Under 20

08 March 2012

  • England Under 20 name team to play France
  • We can only control ourselves – Walker
England Under 20's Ryan Mills in action

Photo: Getty Images

England Under 20 have made three changes to the team that beat Italy 42-7 for Saturday night's Under 20 Six Nations clash against France in Vannes, kick off 8.45pm (local time).

Gloucester back Ryan Mills comes in at fly half while hooker Koree Britton and No. 8 Jack Clifford also come back into Rob Hunter’s side. There are also first appearances on the bench for David Sisi, Ben Spencer and Will Addison.

England are three from three in this season’s Six Nations competition and have averaged 47 points a game, but Leeds flanker Chris Walker, who again captains the side, says that the squad will take nothing for granted.

“France are a good side,” he said. “They lost narrowly at home against Ireland back in February but have beaten Wales and Italy, so we know that they will provide a significant threat.

“But we can only control ourselves and we’ve trained well this week and we’re looking in good shape.

“It’s good to have a few of the Premiership guys back in and we’re looking forward to seeing what they can offer. Ryan Mills in at No. 10 is a good move, he’s a top player and I’m sure he’ll keep us ticking over nicely, and with Tommy Bell on the bench too, we’ve got some really nice options at fly half.”

Backs coach Nick Walshe added: "Ryan's got experience playing at No. 10 so we know that he can do the job. He's a class individual, a very, very good rugby player and has slipped into the stand-off role with ease.

"He brings a lot of experience with him, he's played France at this level before and more recently he's been playing Premiership rugby with Gloucester – he's up for the big occasion, and this game on Saturday is another big occasion."

England Under 20 team

15) Ben Ransom (Saracens)
14) Anthony Watson (London Irish)
13) Charlie Walker (Harlequins)
12) Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs)
11) Marland Yarde (London Irish)
10) Ryan Mills (Gloucester Rugby)
9) Dan Robson (Gloucester Rugby)

1) Luke Cowan Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
2) Koree Britton (Gloucester Rugby)
3) Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
4) Tom Price (Leicester Tigers)
5) Dom Barrow (Leeds Carnegie)
6) Matt Kvesic (Worcester)
7) Chris Walker (Leeds Carnegie) (C)
8) Jack Clifford (Harlequins)


16) Nathan Morris (London Wasps)
17) Alec Hepburn (London Wasps)
18) Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)
19) David Sisi (London Irish)
20) Will Skuse (Bath Rugby)
21) Ben Spencer (Saracens)
22) Tommy Bell (Sale Sharks)
23) Will Addison (Sale Sharks)