This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England squad update

13 March 2012

  • Stuart Lancaster names 24 players who will prepare for Ireland on Saturday
  • Eight players return to their clubs this evening
England squad gather at Pennyhill Park

Photo: Getty Images

Stuart Lancaster has named the 24 players will return to Pennyhill Park on Wednesday evening to prepare for Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations match against Ireland at Twickenham Stadium.

In sending eight players back to their clubs, the Interim Head Coach praised the contribution and attitude of all the players been part of the group during the tournament.

He said: “With such a short turnaround after Paris the lads have had to really re-focus and we are pleased with how they have applied themselves to reviewing the game and training today.

"We’ll meet again tomorrow night but it’s important to recognise the contribution of those not coming back into camp. This has been a collective effort, not just the 15 who have started games, or the 22 in the match-day squads but 30-plus players who have all bought in to what we are trying to achieve are are committed to the journey we are on.

“The next time these guys will all get together is ahead of the South Africa tour and we wish them well at their clubs for the rest of the season.”

England squad for Ireland

Forwards (13)

Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Ben Morgan (Scarlets)
Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Matt Stevens (Saracens)
Rob Webber (London Wasps)

Backs (11)

Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
Charlie Hodgson (Saracens)
Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)
David Strettle (Saracens)
Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

The following players will return to their clubs this evening:

Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)
Calum Clark (Northampton Saints)
Karl Dickson (Harlequins)
Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)
Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers)