This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO - Strettle returns for 6N finale

15 March 2012

  • Sharples out as Strettle recovers from sternum injury
  • Mears steps up to the bench

England today made one change to the starting team for Saturday’s final RBS 6 Nations match against Ireland at Twickenham Stadium.

David Strettle (Saracens) has recovered from his sternum injury and takes over from Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby) on the left wing, while on the bench Bath Rugby’s Lee Mears comes in for Rob Webber of London Wasps who picked up a shoulder injury during the time he was on the field against France.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “It seems like yesterday when we got together in Leeds in January and began a new journey for England Rugby. Graham, Andy and myself firmly believe in this group of players and the direction we are going. Saturday is another step on that road and we are looking forward to coming home to a packed Twickenham with its special atmosphere and crowd. Their support has been phenomenal and we hope we can do the whole nation proud again.

"David Strettle has now recovered from his injury and so will replace Charlie Sharples, who gained valuable experience in Paris. It's great to have Lee Mears on the bench and he will bring great energy and exprience should he get a chance to come on."

England team to face Ireland

15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
14 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
12 Brad Barritt (Saracens)
11 David Strettle (Saracens)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens)
9 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
1 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
5 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
6 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt)
8 Ben Morgan (Scarlets)


16 Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)
17 Matt Stevens (Saracens)
18 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
19 Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)
20 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
21 Charlie Hodgson (Saracens)
22 Mike Brown (Harlequins)